bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-05-16

Scrambled thoughts
Just as I was about to start my daily entry, my computer, my light, and my radio snapped off. That's right -- power outage, the second in four days. But this time, it wasn't because of the severe thunderstorm raging overhead. My dad has a snoring problem; he snores so loudly that my stepmom generally prefers to sleep elsewhere, and since I'm home from school she's got to sleep in the basement. Don't worry, it's a finished basement, and she's got a comfy couch to sleep on with cats to keep her company. Anyhow, she'd tried to turn out the light, and somehow it tripped the main breaker for the house. How, I don't know. But it was really freaky, especially because when the power went out I looked out the window, and everyone else in the neighborhood had power. I think I freaked out my fish. Whenever his airstone stops functioning, he thinks he's going to get his tank cleaned, which means he's got to swim around in a tiny container for about an hour.

Anyhow, I don't know what's wrong with me. As my sister mentioned in her diary, I am a professional sleeper. When I was very young and it was time for my nap, I never argued with my mother. I'd just go happily off to my room for a nice lengthy snooze. As a teen, I would sleep in on the weekends till at least 10am, which annoyed my parents to no end, and now that I'm in college I'm finding that I'm sleeping in till almost noon in most cases. Last night I went to bed at 1:45am or thereabouts, and woke up at 11am. I had to get up that early for a job interview, or else I would have slept in later. I went to dinner with my ex-boyfriend and his brothers, and when he brought me home at 5:45pm I just collapsed onto my bed. I woke up again after 8:30pm and was barely able to drag myself out of bed. I could very easily have gone back to bed to sleep till tomorrow.... I hope I'm not getting sick. My stepmother has strep throat...

The pain of missing my friends has dulled a bit. I still miss them, but I'm easing into life at home again, so I have other things to occupy my brain. My brother always wants me to go to his appointments or wherever he needs to go with him, and he's always after me to play with him. I still think about them all the time -- I like to write letters and most of them will get mail soon. :o) So watch your mailboxes, ladies and gentlemen! There will be stuff from me in there.

Speaking of letters, I got one today from a girl I knew in Nebraska in 9th grade. She's gotten married to her boyfriend, who's 32 years older than she is. Again, I don't want to reiterate my whole wedding argument, or rather my reasonings for why I don't want to get married quite yet. I still don't understand why she married this guy -- I know she's in love, but she's been living with him for three and a half years (since she was 16), and before that she was in a bad household with her mother. I just hope it works out for them, I really do. So many marriages these days don't work out....




previous * next