bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-05-02

No sleep till.... Brooklyn???
If I had to pick an adjective for this day, I think it would be... well, hmmm. That's a good question. Maybe "non-functioning" would be a good one, since I haven't really done anything today. It's finals season, that's right folks! The time to stress out and study your ass off. Unfortunately, that's not what I am doing. I am rationalizing away the fact that I have all day tomorrow to finish my take home exam, and that my exam on Friday will be super simple. I just don't have any motivation. My goals today were simple -- write up what I've done of my take home exam, write a thank-you card to my friend who came visiting last week, and paint my toenails. I haven't even gotten around to painting my toenails. Isn't that sad?

So what HAVE I been doing?? I have been sucked into the May issue of Cosmopolitan.

Yes, friends, I bought Cosmo today at the Wmsbg Drugstore (my favourite store in Wmsbg, by the way). Hey, it had both swimsuits and tantric sex on the cover. How much better could it get?!?!

So today I learned I am a go-getter (yeah right), and that I'm a "give and take girlfriend" from the quizzes in Cosmo. I gazed at this year's hottest new swimsuits, longing to fit into them and trying to get ideas for how I could look good, if I ever made it to the beach. I read horror stories of girls' vibrators falling out of their hiding places in front of their fathers, of heinous boyfriends who used their girlfriends as nannies, and of an out-of-control woman who abused her boyfriend so badly that he will need years of therapy. I looked at the pictures of the celebs and wondered why the hell they thought they could get away with that outfit.

Then I saw the engagement section. You heard me -- a whole segment devoted to getting your man to propose. Now don't get me wrong; I wouldn't mind a man thinking so highly of me that he actually contemplates what it would be like to spend the rest of his life with me. But what about everything else? What about being young and free and learning who you are?? I don't think, although sometimes I dream of it, that I would be happy going straight from my father's household to my husband's. I've got so much to DO first, so much to discover about myself! Besides, I want to live with one of my girlfriends first... see what the young and single life is all about, when you go out cruising for guys all night, come home and giggle over the fools they made of themselves, and watch some chick flick while gorging on Haagen Daaz.

At the same time I'm a hopeless romantic... longing for candlelit dinners, cuddling while watching something rather cheesy, gazing into each others eyes, and maybe, at long last, a proposal on the beach while the sun is rising after walking all night through the waves. Or maybe Paris, on the banks of the Seine. Or Venice, on a gondola at sunset....

Ach, who knows... maybe I'll just elope with Scott to Vegas and get married by flying serenading Elvii. Or better yet, take my princess to Vermont and start a maple sugar plant way out in the woods somewhere!! :o)




previous * next