bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-05-15

Who am I, really?
Today I felt something I hadn't felt in a long time, and I'm not sure there's just one label for this feeling. Being well-liked, being popular... just some nuances of this feeling. Today I went into work to grovel for a new job, and as I sat in Anna's office, people would go rushing from one place to another through the main hall... but then they would stop, take another look, and finally burst into Anna's office to greet me and ask me if I was really coming back. I got hugs from *so* many people... And they all looked genuinely happy to see me once more. I saw so many people that I thought I had left for good -- Billiann in the cash office, Rica who's now in customer service, and the guys in DOS. (Well, that department is actually Windows Systems now, but they're too lazy to repaint the wall, and it still says DOS Systems.)

But I think the reason I have so many friends there above anywhere else is because of the image I project. There's something about being in a skirt which changes my whole outlook on life, and makes me so much more confident. At school, I lounge around in jeans and a t-shirt, not caring too much what I look like, and I feel a lot more vulnerable, a lot younger too. Then I get to work, where I'm forced to wear dresses/skirts all the time, and I feel mature, grown-up, confident... even... pretty. It doesn't help when I am able to gather the whole of the (male-dominated) DOS department around me to chat during working hours, and they all vie to impress me. They also told me about all the men who had crushes on me during the last two times I worked there, and I know it's all b.s., but it still feels good. Everyone was complimenting me on losing weight (even though I weigh 20 lbs more than I ever have in my life, if Kurt's scale is right), and some even were very complimentary about my shoes, the new Dr. Martens I got on eBay. And most people know that an excellent way to get on my good side is to compliment my shoes! :o) I just feel so much more secure about who I am when I'm at work. But at the same time I wonder if I'm completely a different person. It's so odd...

Speaking of oddness, my ex-boyfriend Shervan was gracious enough to offer me a ride in to work for my final interview tomorrow, which I found quite sweet. But when I told my dad, he seemed rather surprised. I don't understand why most people think that just because you've broken up with your significant other that the two of you MUST hate one another. Corey and I are best friends... and I couldn't do without him. Shervan and I are trying to remain friends because we truly enjoy one another's company. Just because it didn't work out between us romantically shouldn't have anything to do with whether we can be friends!




previous * next