bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
24 March 2007

House full of yummy smells
I have a pot roast in the crock pot, and it smells gooooooood.

Wanna come over for dinner??

I just invited my postal carrier to dinner, but I doubt she'll come. She's almost as anti-social as I am.

One thing I love about cooking is how my hands smell. When you cut up celery, onions, and carrots, your hands end up with that lovely mirepoix scent. They still have a faint aroma, though I've washed my hands about ten times already today.

I do wash my hands a lot. I read the newspaper every morning, and I hate newspaper ink on my hands. So I have to wash them. Then I'll eat something, and I hate my hands being greasy. So I wash them. And when I sit down to do my stitching, my hands have to be clean. The natural oils on your hands can stain your stitching, something that you don't want to happen on a project you've been working on for four or five months.

Speaking of stitching, I am nearly through with my autumn sampler. It's HUGE. I might have to get it professionally framed. We'll see. I'd really rather not because it's so damn expensive, even with a 50% off coupon from Michael's or Joann's. The last time I had something framed at Joann's, they didn't put glass in it. Then they had to audacity to make me wait 45 minutes so they could add the glass, and they charged me for the glass as well. You'd think if it were their mistake for not putting the glass in the order at the outset that they would eat the $10 fee for the glass.

My mom just called me to tell me she bought me new towels. She found the perfect shade, she thinks, at a home store, and they were being discontinued. When I asked why she bought me some (a lovely gesture, but something she didn't have to do), she told me she felt bad that my brother had ruined mine. She also apparently informed my brother that he messed up my towels, so he called me to apologize. I felt kind of bad that he felt so bad, if that makes any sense. But at least I'm getting new towels out of the deal. I just need to take these dark plum towels back to Penney's and get my money back.

Penney's doesn't refund shipping and handling charges. That's sort of frustrating. I buy a lot of stuff from QVC.com (what I can't find anywhere else, that is, because I hate paying a separate shipping charge for every item), but when I have had to return something, I've had my S&H refunded as well. I spent $9 on having these towels shipped to me from Penney's.com, and I guess I have to eat that charge. Nine dollars isn't much, in the scheme of things; it's just weird that one place refunds S&H and another doesn't. At least I can go to a Penney's store to return these towels so I don't incur another shipping charge. That's a bonus.

Have I mentioned my pot roast smells good?? Y'all can come over for dinner, I don't mind. I'll even make something meatless for my vegetarian friends. And no, I won't make you pick out the meat from a dish and expect you to eat just the veggies. It isn't the same thing! I will prepare something entirely meatless.

But I do draw the line at Tofurkey.




previous * next