bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
25 March 2007

Miss Popularity
Yesterday I was Miss Popularity. It was quite strange! Days will go by in which my phone will only ring once (Caroline tends to check on me at least every other day), or even not at all.

Six different people called me multiple times yesterday.

First it was my sister Michele, who called me many times while she made some molasses spice cookies. She had called me to ask about the difference between baking powder and baking soda, and then she told me about this recipe she wanted to try. But I found a yummier recipe in my America's Test Kitchen cookbook, so I scanned that in and emailed it to her.

Of course, Caroline called me. That's sort of required.

My mom called me to tell me she bought me those new towels, and then my brother called to apologize for ruining the old towels.

Later in the afternoon my father-in-law called to thank me for sending them the frog magnetic clip Grace had painted in art class. He drives a charter bus for a living, and he had driven a girls' basketball team, I think it was, to LA for a game. I think he's probably back in Tucson now.

Finally, after chatting to my good buddy Art for a while, to help entertain him through his marathon 21-hour shift, I told him I was getting away from the damn computer and off the damn phone so I could go stitch! I had a couple of cool forensic tv shows on my DVR that I wanted to see, so I cued one up that I had started watching earlier in the evening and started to stitch. I had gotten one, possibly two, leaves outlined in the leaf wreath around the center medallion when the phone rang AGAIN.

*sigh*

This time it was my uncle Steve, my father's brother. He and I seem to get along fairly well because we seem to be somewhat alike in temperament. Plus I find him quite interesting to talk to. I attempted to continue stitching while I was on the phone with him, but after a while my shoulder was killing me.

We spent 2� hours on the phone last night, which took me up to midnight. So there wasn't a whole lot of stitching going on yesterday.

I shall have to rectify the situation today.

My dinner turned out sooooooooo yummy yesterday!! I browned the meat before I stuck it in the crockpot, which is why it sort of looks burnt on the plate. But it tasted so much better than if I had just thrown the raw hunk o' meat in.

Tonight's dinner, all plated up!

The asparagus were a wee bit oversteamed as well. I'm not as good at timing them as I am broccoli. I've got broccoli down to the second! But asparagus, I am still learning. They still were quite yummy, regardless.

And just in case you were going into Grace withdrawals, this is what I found Grace doing this morning for no apparent reason:

At least she knows her numbers!!!




previous * next