bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
23 March 2007

Wee bit late to art class
Here's a wee bit of oddity for you:

I don't have an uncommon name, though it is spelled weird. But it's uncommon to find not of the baby boomer generation with my name.

I do, however, have the world's most common middle name for a female, although it too is spelled weird.

Today at art class (I almost wrote Art, as in my good buddy Art -- ha ha), Loud Lady was talking to the teacher and me about getting screwed over with her husband's orders. She then quoted her husband and referred to herself by name, and I said, "Hey! That's my middle name!"

Loud Lady then tells me it's her middle name too, and of course I am nosy and had to ask what her first name is.

Her first name? Same as mine.

Which means, we have the exact same name.

How freaky weird is that???

Of course, it's not the exact same, since my parents apparently do not know how to spell (they do, but it's a long story as to how I got my name), but still!

That's just weird, I'm telling ya!

I was sort of late today to art class. I walked in to the classroom at 9:31am, making me a whopping one minute late. But everyone else was seated and already painting a birdhouse, the project for today.

Grace painting her birdhouse

Grace chose her own colors -- pastel purple and baby blue. Later I adorned the finished project with bright green and gold polka dots. It looks really cute! I will take a photo of it later. It's not quite finished yet, as I have to glue in the bird that lives in the birdhouse. The teacher added everyone else's bird to the roof of the birdhouse, but apparently my bird didn't want to be there. So the teacher tried to place the bird in the opening of the birdhouse, but she was only using white glue. The poor bird fell off his perch when I knocked into it as I left. Now I have to go find my hot glue gun and replace the poor bird on to his perch.

What amazed me is Grace painted her own hands today!!!

Grace painting her hand!

Last week we'd done some handprints, and Grace allowed me to paint her hands to accomplish that. That in itself was a huge move forward. The first class covered finger-painting, and Grace was having none of that. There was no way she was going to get her hands full of paint!! When she began to paint her own hands today to make handprints, I was so surprised!! We've made huge strides!

Never a dull day in the life of a toddler!




previous * next