bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
26 January 2007

First day of art class
Yes, hair spray DOES make a bathroom sticky and gross after a while, and yes, I am an avid hairspray user.

That said, I also don't miss the toilet when I'm peeing like most men I've met!!!

Hmph.

Today was Grace's first art class. I'd kind of been warned by my friend AS on how it was going to work. Her little girl ended up really not liking it because she doesn't like to get her hands dirty, so they only went to the one class.

I prepared Grace by stealing one of Kurt's white t-shirts. We need to buy stock in white t-shirts, I'm telling ya! It's part of his uniform; he has to wear one every single day, regardless of what uniform he's got on. He even needs one under his coveralls. The problem is, the days he wears his coveralls, which is almost every day, he gets filthy. His white t-shirts don't stay white for long. Then when he needs to wear a dress uniform, we need to go out and buy another pack of t-shirts so he has a nice, pristinely white t-shirt to wear. So we have plenty of extra t-shirts on hand, and I have plenty of rags as a result.

The nice thing about the t-shirt was it covered Grace completely from her neck down to her shoes. The more coverage, the better, because for some odd reason the teacher for this class does not use washable fingerpaints. She uses regular tempera paint. While it's non-toxic, it stains clothing. If I were a teacher, I would use the washable fingerpaints. It only makes sense for a class full of toddlers.

Grace wasn't too keen on fingerpainting. I guess she doesn't really like getting her hands dirty, which cracks me up because she tends to prefer to eat with her hands and make a total mess. Yesterday when we went to Burger King with AS, Grace had a cheeseburger and got mustard and ketchup EVERYWHERE.

Another thing I don't get about the teacher is she explains things to the kids that are way beyond them. The age limit to this class is 2½, but she's explaining to the kids that yellow, red, and blue are magic colors because you can make every color of the rainbow from those three colors. It's nice that she's talking up to them, instead of talking down, but it's beyond kids this young to understand what she's talking about. She told us at the beginning of the class that she used to run a daycare, so you'd think she would understand that her information is a little bit beyond such young toddlers. Most of the kids in the class were about 18 months.

After class, it was such a nice day that I couldn't bear to come straight home. So I drove down to the main street to grab a cup of coffee at the bakery. And yes, my "boyfriend" was there!! YAY!! He cracks me up. You look at him, and you think he's this rather quiet, kind of geeky kind of guy (just the way I like 'em!!), but then his shirt sleeves ride up and you see he's got tattoos around both biceps. Then you're talking to him and notice he's got an stud earring in the cartilage of one ear. To top it all off, Grace was showing me her tongue, so he sticks his tongue out at her -- and he's got a tongue ring! He totally does not look like the kind of guy to have all this. Unfortunately we couldn't talk for long; he was working, and while I was relaxing and enjoying my coffee, the bakery got insanely slammed. I am not sure if school is out today, or all the homeschooled kids decided to go out, but there were a lot of children out and about today.

There is a huge number of kids homeschooled here. The funny thing is, the schools here aren't that bad! We have a lot of folks who just don't like the concept of public school. This is an area full of what Kurt likes to refer to as "granola-eating tree huggers." I'm really surprised Walmart managed to get built here because there were a ton of people opposed to the concept of a big box store in general and Walmart in particular.

Don't get me wrong -- I myself am fairly crunchy. But my mantra in life is "Everything in moderation."

It is such a gorgeous day outside that I want to go to a park and let Gracie run around. On the other hand, I'm exhausted. I couldn't sleep last night for fear of oversleeping my alarm, and then Grace woke up at 6:30am crying for some weird reason. I had to go into her room and cuddle her for a few minutes before she would go back in to her crib. The forecast says we're supposed to continue to get lovely weather for quite some time, so I think I may postpone the park visit until tomorrow.

I think it's about time for a nap... for me, this time, not just Grace!




previous * next