bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
04 December 2006

Newspaper delivery saga
Part 97 of the newspaper delivery rant:

No paper AGAIN today. I meant to check as I left the house, but since I back into my driveway, I just pulled out and left as normal. I noticed my neighbor had his Sunday paper still stuffed in the box, but I couldn't tell if he got a Monday paper. As I backed into the driveway from running errands, I looked and sure enough -- no paper.

I never did get the last week's Tuesday and Wednesday editions that I had asked for, the ones from during the snow storm last week. Finally I gave up calling to ask for those two papers and got a credit instead.

Today when I called, the lady told me it was now going to be a formal complaint because there have been too many calls regarding missed papers. Now the manager is going to get involved. I feel bad in a way because apparently I have a new carrier that just started a few days ago, and now I'm putting in a formal complaint in his first week of work. At the same time, is it too much to ask to get a paper that I have paid for?

I don't know why I am having all of these problems now. I went three years of near-perfect newspaper delivery. I don't have a clue what's going on now.

In other news, my mother-in-law called me on Saturday to tell me that her mother (who's lived with Kurt and his family for the last 20+ years and helped to raise the boys) suffered a massive stroke. She was understandably very upset by the situation and didn't really have any further news.

The news was very upsetting to me as well. I love my in-laws; I may not agree with them politically, I may not like everything they do, but they have really good hearts and they're good people. But Kurt's grandma (known to the family as Mom-mom) is very dear to me. She's always made me feel like I fit into the family from day one, and she's willing to sit and talk to me about anything. And strokes are scary stuff. I haven't known anyone to have one before.

Fortunately, Mom-mom is doing much better now. My MIL says they gave her some medicine which worked very well, and while her right arm is still pretty much paralyzed, she can move her right leg again. She also said Mom-mom's getting somewhat crabby to have to be in the hospital all the time, and I take that as a good sign. I mean, what healthy person wants to be in the hospital? I'd be crabby too!

Now it looks like everything is settling down. My weekend was not good at all, but today has been much better. I even took Gracie and went to my favorite antique store, bought some books (and books always make me feel better!), had lunch at the local Italian restaurant, and then got some things at Walmart. I even convinced the Walmart jewelry clerk to remove a couple of links from my new watch!! Technically she's not supposed to touch it, as they don't sell Relic watches at Walmart, but I told her if she scratched it, I didn't really mind. I got it at Mervyn's going-out-of-business sale, and I didn't pay full price for it anyway. Plus I'm hard on my watches; I'll scratch it myself before the week is out!

Remind me not to buy yet another pink watch. This latest one makes three pink (or pink-faced) watches. My favorite is a Guess watch that supports breast cancer research, but still... I don't need three pink watches!




previous * next