bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
02 December 2006

Confessions of a hoarder
Alleged Wife, aka Fi, has won the fish-naming contest, as hers was the only suggestion! Plus it's just cute.

Thank you, Fi!

I've determined that the orange fantail is Ob (orange = Ob, to make it easier for my scatterbrain to remember) and the calico is Gob.

Unfortunately, I have a feeling we are going to have to find a new Ob fairly soon. The current incarnation spends most of his time in a corner of the tank, looking like he's gasping for air. But Gob is fine, happily swimming around and investigating his new home. I've checked all my chemicals repeatedly. Last night the ammonia levels were fairly high, but I treated the water and now the ammonia level is in the "ideal" range. I also figured if only Ob is having issues with the water, it must be something wrong with him and not my water. Otherwise, Gob would be exhibiting the same behavior.

Oh well. This is what you get when you buy live fish at Walmart.

I have determined that I am a hoarder. It's not to the point where I have 100 cats or a path carved out of my living room between stacks of papers and books, but it's still pretty bad. I have a feeling that if I don't get it in check soon that by the time I'm 80, I'll be the crazy old lady with 100 cats.

I come by it honestly. My father still hangs onto his college textbooks, even though they are hopelessly out of date. He's also got every issue of National Geographic Magazine from the 60s to now, and many issues dating back to 1918 or so. He keeps all the boxes to his computer software, no matter how old. Even my stepmom, a hoarder herself, tries to convince him to purge. Shockingly enough, she thinks he should start with his books -- and she's a librarian!

My stepmom has always kept enough food in the house to feed an army. She has a freezer in the basement full of food in addition to her refrigerator in the kitchen and a walk-in pantry, stuffed with dry goods. No more Cheerios? No matter -- there are three more boxes in the pantry. Need a new toothbrush? Choose one from the six extras that are in the linen closet.

I'm not criticizing them; I'm just showing where I get it. I always try to keep an extra can of my current favorite hairspray on hand because I'd hate to run out in the middle of spraying my hair. I usually have two extra tubes of toothpaste on hand, even though it takes a while to go through one tube. I can't stand to throw something away because I might need it! I have a zillion hair ties and other hair doodads from when I had longer hair that I no longer need, but I can't get rid of them.

I'm the same way as my stepmom with food. My two refrigerators are full of food, even though there is only two of us at home now. To be fair, one is a side-by-side model that barely holds my leftovers, so I keep most things I don't use all that often in my garage fridge. I have one double cupboard in the kitchen and two single ones in the garage full of canned goods, and my boxed goods take up a kitchen cupboard as well as shelving in the garage. I really need a pantry!

I'm just afraid of running out of something. It's weird.

If you ever need a can of stewed tomatoes or coconut milk or chicken broth, you know who to call!




previous * next