bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
12 September 2006

Grace is a nut
This just totally cracked me up so much I had to share! Grace found Kurt's stack of invitations to his pinning ceremony to become a Chief, and she decided to organize them.

Enjoy!



I am glad September 11th is over.

When the terrorist attacks occurred, it was a very bad time for my family. I wasn't sure if my father had survived the attack on the Pentagon (thankfully he wasn't even there that day; he'd had a prior appointment to take his SUV in for maintenance), and the jets screaming over my place of employment added another level of fright to the entire day. It didn't help that where I worked did not have a television; we all huddled around the radio and could only imagine the destruction that was happening to our country.

I'm just glad that the day is over because it brings all those emotions back. All the documentaries and movies playing on all the network and cable channels stress me out. It's just a very difficult day for me to deal with, so this year I watched only History Channel International (a documentary on Warrior Queen Boudica was on), and spent most of the day out at the NEX and commissary doing some shopping.

This entry describes how I felt two days after the attacks; it hasn't changed much in the last five years.

PS -- I don't agree with September 11th now being called Patriot Day. To me, it's just W. putting spin on the terrorist attacks. The people we lost aren't patriots because they were murdered; waging a war on terrorism doesn't make any of us patriots. I think if we have to name this day, it should be Remembrance Day because it should be a day of remembering the people we lost. I realize that's what Memorial Day used to be called, but we don't use that name anymore. That's just my opinion, anyhow.




previous * next