bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
09 September 2006

Fiasco at Joanns
At the moment, my husband is running the cash register at a food counter at the Barnum and Bailey's Circus in Everett, Washington, as a fundraiser for his Chief initiation.

Two things are wrong with this.

1) They're letting Kurt run the cash register. Apparently they didn't learn last night during the fundraiser at Safeco Field during a Mariners game. In his defense, everyone was rushing around and hurrying, and you too would mistake a $50 for a $20 and give back too little change.

(Side note: Who the hell carries $50s and $100s anyhow?!? Why don't people just go to the ATM and withdraw their money in nice little $20 increments? I still don't understand people who do very mundane things, like depositing or withdrawing, by going into the bank and talking to a teller.)

2) I'm not sure people will be able to differentiate Kurt from the clowns!!!

HAHAHAHAHA!

OK, that wasn't nice. But it was funny!

Check it out, yo!!

All finished and framed!!

Ain't it LOVELY?? I am so pleased with the way it turned out.

Getting it was a completely different matter. I had taken it to Joann's to get framed because they do a better job than Michael's does, in my humble opinion, and because Joann's had a 60% off your total framing order coupon. Can't ask for a better price!! So I took my sampler in to Joann's, spoke to a fairly new clerk in the framing shop, and trusted her with my very expensive (in terms of hours I worked on it) sampler.

I received a call to say it was finished a few days ago, so I headed in. The same girl that had checked in my project met me at the counter, and said, "Oh yes! I remember you!! What was your name so I can go get your framed project?" I told her, and she headed to the back to retrieve my sampler.

When she came back, she asked if I'd like to see it, and when she unwrapped the brown paper, I said, "It looks lovely! But it's supposed to have glass in it."

They had framed it sans glass.

She looked confused and studied my framing order, where she found that there was no order for glass. However, I know I had said I wanted glass because I distinctly remember her asking me if I wanted regular or archival glass. We also had a big long discussion with another more experienced framer regarding spacers. I had asked for spacers to be inserted into the frame to hold the glass up off the stitching so it wouldn't be crushed. She had charged me for the spacers, but why would I need spacers if I didn't have glass in the frame?

She told me she could put the glass in immediately, but that it would take her about 15 minutes to do. I said that was fine, and then she went to talk to her manager to see if I had to pay for the glass since it was her mistake that she didn't charge me the first time. She came back and said, yes I did have to pay for the glass.

Grrrrrrr.

So I went shopping, found the summertime sampler of the seasonal collection I want to do, and occupied myself as best I could in the cross-stitch section. It's frustrating to go to Michael's and Joann's and see their small cross-stitch collections. But apparently cross-stitch had its heyday in the 80s, and there aren't many cross-stitch stores left. It makes me sad. I did manage to pick up a ruler that will help me count squares on different sizes of Aida cloth, as well as more needles and new knobs for my stretcher bars.

I checked back at the framing place after about 20 minutes. Another young man came out and told me it would be just about 10 more minutes. I went wandering about again. Fifteen minutes later I was told it would be just a few more minutes. All in all, it took me about an hour to get my framed project back, and Gracie was absolutely done sitting in the cart by this time. And I owed them $9 for the glass they didn't charge me the first time. You'd think Joann's could suck up $9, but oh well.

But now I have it, and I love it, and I think it's gorgeous. Now I just have to find a place to put it!!!




previous * next