bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
06 September 2006

Amazingly dextrous Grace
OK, I lied. I didn't get any sushi last night at the Japanese restaurant.

We had to go to Kinko's and Costco last night for stuff for Kurt's initiation, so he ended up taking me to the one Japanese restaurant that is next to Kinko's, where I thought he was taking me to the other Japanese restaurant. I was a little sad when I realized where we were because I felt the other Japanese restaurant had better food. And the waitresses absolutely love Grace.

When I mentioned that I thought we were going to the other restaurant, Kurt gallantly offered to take me to that one, but since we were already there and seated, I thought it would be rude to up and leave. See, a lot of what is on the menu at that Japanese restaurant is fried, and my stomach didn't like the idea of fried food last night.

As soon as we ordered, we saw the couple next to us receive their order... a huge wooden boat filled with all different kinds of sushi. My mouth immediately began to water, so we asked the waitress what they'd gotten for dinner. Apparently you can just order a bunch of sushi off the sushi menu, and it comes in the wooden boat!! How's that for presentation??

The next time we go, I'm getting me a boat!

I found something incredibly yummy on the menu that wasn't fried. It was this grilled, marinated beef, sliced super thin, and amazingly flavorful. And of course I got sticky rice with it, so I drizzled some soy sauce on top and I was in seventh heaven. Before dinner we were served pickled bean sprouts and miso soup, which has got to be one of my favoritest things ever.

Kurt had a combination platter including California rolls, three kinds of sashimi (tuna, mackerel, and red snapper), salad, tempura (shrimp and veggies), and chicken teriyaki. I think it was the first time I'd ever had sashimi, and it was surprisingly good! Between us we had plenty of food to share with Grace. Most of the time we try to get a children's meal for her because she eats so much that we'd be still hungry if we shared our meals.

Grace loved the pickled bean sprouts and the miso soup. She wanted all of my soup!! I was generous and shared at least half of it with her. Once our food came, I put some rice and some beef in her bowl and let her have at it.

Me, I'm a fan of using chopsticks when I go to an Asian restaurant. Kurt missed the Chopstick Gene when they were handing it out, so he can't manage them, but I love using them. In fact, I have several pairs of my own sticks that my friend Ben brought back from Japan for me.

Gracie saw me using chopsticks last night during dinner and decided she would give it a go also. So I broke apart a set for her and handed them over. Next thing I know, she's got them backwards, but she's actually managing to pick her food up with them and shovel it into her mouth!!!

My chin about hit the floor.

I bought a pair of children's sized chopsticks at the foo-foo grocery store one day. I guess it's about time to break them out and let her use them!




previous * next