bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
28 June 2006

In which I demonstrate my nerdiness
I heard the funniest thing EVER last night as Kurt and I watched Mission Hill on Cartoon Network's Adult Swim.

Now there's the hugest admission of nerdiness ever. Granted, I don't watch the really out-there animated series, like Aqua Teen Hunger Force or Tom Goes to the Mayor, but Kurt and I enjoy watching stuff like Futurama, Family Guy, Robot Chicken, and now Mission Hill.

Since it's sort of nerd heaven to watch Adult Swim, the commercials are geared towards the less cool among us. I definitely fit into that category.

So when I saw a commercial for Magic: The Gathering, I wasn't terribly surprised. I was, however, blindsided by the sheer hilarity of the commercial itself.

It started out with the text "Your mama is so fat..." across the screen. The next frame finished with, "We considered making her our 20/20 card."

I about died laughing. Kurt ended up having to put his hands over his ears because I was shrieking with laughter. And I couldn't STOP laughing! Every so often, I would start to giggle again. It was THAT funny.

At least to me.

See, in Magic: The Gathering (which is a card game sort of like Pokemon or Yu Gi Oh), a card can deal damage as well as withstand damage. The first number tells how much damage the card can deal out, and the second number tells how much it can withstand.

So a 20/20 card is a pretty damn big card.

It loses its hilarity when you have to explain it.

But I have no one in my life now that would understand that joke!! I left all my Magic playing friends behind in high school, although a few of my college friends had also played it when they were in high school.

During lunch, all my friends and I would gather in the Sports Lobby (our school had way too many students to house all of us in the cafeteria for lunch, so most of us ate in the hallways on the floor or in various open areas of the school), sit on the floor, and play Magic as we ate. I was also the only girl in my group, as you can well imagine. I wasn't terribly good at playing, and I had to borrow all my Magic cards from my then-boyfriend since my parents didn't give me enough of an allowance to be able to afford my own cards.

I still have them, shockingly enough. And some of them are probably worth some money now. Serves James right... ;o)

So yeah, I am definitely a nerd. And I'm proud of it, too!!

In Grace-related news, I was on the computer yesterday when all of a sudden I hear a massive CRASH!!! I quickly run over to Grace, and see her sitting on the floor in front of the entertainment center, just beginning to cry. I didn't see anything wrong with her at first, but then I took a good look at her face and realized she was bleeding from a pretty bad scratch all down her face. I'm still not quite sure what exactly happened, but I'm thinking that my cat Storm (the psycho one) decided to leave his perch on top of the china cupboard and somehow managed to scratch Grace on his way down. She now has a scratch from her eyebrow down to her earlobe. Poor baby. She recovered quickly, though, and shows no fear of the cats. She's still chasing them around and trying to pull their tails.

Naughty Gracie. ;o)




previous * next