bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
27 June 2006

Update on my Woot Bag o Crap
I just now received my Bag o' Crap from Woot!!!

See, here's the thing -- the Bags o' Crap are so exciting because there is a chance that you could get something spectacular in them, where you've only paid $1 per bag plus $5 shipping. I paid my $8 (you're supposed to ask for three Bags o' Crap), and waited expectantly in hopes of getting something way cool, like an awesome remote control or even this way cool dinosaur robot others got in this round of crap.

Now I'm not so lucky. I got what so many other people got in this round -- a camera case large enough for a mid-sized camcorder, a case for a 40GB iPod (like I'm ever going to buy an iPod... I love my 20GB Rio Karma too dang much), a Madden/NHL '95 plug n' play game (which I coincidentally bought for Kurt for $5 when it was featured on Woot), and a clapping toy thingy.

*sigh*

All of that excitement, just to get crap. ;o)

Better luck next time, eh???

We really lucked out here yesterday!! The high temperature was supposed to be 95, which is extremely hot for this area, but it only got up to 90, according to Weather.com. You'd think five degrees wouldn't make much difference, but it does! My home thermometer only got up to 86, I think, so that was definitely a good thing.

Last night I sat on the couch watching tv, and I had the patio door open with the fan sitting in front of it, and both front windows wide open. The cool breeze coming in the house was absolutely wonderful. Every few minutes a heavenly scent (it smelled like honeysuckle) would reach my nose. I was loving it!! I'm not sure what the scent was; I don't know where there is any honeysuckle, except for a little one in my backyard that doesn't put out any scent. I ended up going outside at midnight to see if I left my camera in the car (I hadn't), and the scent was much, much stronger out there. I need to figure out what it is.

Today's supposed to only be in the high 70s. It's already 74, though, which makes me concerned that it's going to get hotter. We are supposed to get clouds in the afternoon, so maybe that will cool it off. I hope so. It's quite warm in the house from yesterday still.

I was smart, though! I made dinner yesterday when it was still rather cool in the house so that I didn't heat up the house when it was already hot in the evening. I have this recipe for a tuna pasta salad, which includes roma tomatoes, artichoke hearts, olives, and capers, and is dressed with olive oil and red wine vinegar. It's really good, and what's nice is you're supposed to serve it lukewarm. So I just stick it in the microwave long enough to take the chill off from the refrigerator. It's a most wonderful thing to eat when it's hot out!

I need to get my summer clothes out of storage, though. I had Kurt get my box of summer clothes out of the garage before he left for San Diego in mid May, but it wasn't warm enough to warrant getting them out of the box. So I've had this massive box of clothes sitting in front of Kurt's closet for over a month. Now that it's hot enough (finally) to put away my winter clothes, I haven't got the energy to do so! Maybe I'll do it tonight when Kurt's home to help, or at least keep me company.

The nice thing about the heat and sun is that I can finally put Grace's diapers on the line to dry in the sun. It makes them smell so much better, and they get white again. I've missed doing that. Last summer when I still had her in prefolds (the flat diapers that are thicker in the middle), I would put her diapers out on the line every other day. Now I am using all-in-ones (cloth diapers with velcro fasteners; they're as easy to use as disposables), and this is the first time I'll have put them on the line. Actually all-in-ones are supposed to have a waterproof liner so that you don't have to worry about diaper covers or anything, but either Grace is outputting far too much to be held in the diaper, or the waterproof liner isn't very waterproof anymore because I have to put her in vinyl pants or else she'd make EVERYTHING wet.

Speaking of diapers, I found Grace naked again this morning. Now she can get a onesie off herself. I don't know how I'm going to keep her diaper on her, short of duct tape!




previous * next