bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
26 June 2006

In which I begin to melt
Hot...... it's so hot.........

OK, OK, it's only 83 degrees currently, but that's stinkin' hot for this area. Our normal temps hover in the low 70s at this time of year. So this is pretty darn warm.

I know my sister in Florida and my best friend in Virginia are giggling at me, whining about the heat. One thing I don't miss about those two areas is the humidity!! At least it's quite dry here. It's so dry that my grass is dying. I still have dandelions, so my lawn's not a total loss for green!

Yesterday got up to 90 degrees. WHEW!! It's not good to have consecutive hot days because then the house doesn't have a chance to cool off, so each day I start with a hotter and hotter indoor temperature.

The funny thing is, over the weekend QVC was featuring a stand-alone air conditioner. Now I'm thinking I should have gotten it!

Fortunately there's a nice breeze cooling things off right now. I've had my front windows open all morning, as they don't get the sun till the late afternoon. I'll have to shut them in about an hour. The worst part of the day is the late afternoon into the evening. I get full sun in my living room windows during that time, and the heat of the day doesn't hit until around 4 or 5pm, so I get a double whammy. Since my house is so small, there isn't really anywhere we can go to escape the heat. The living room is our all-purpose room -- that's where we do everything, save eating. I haven't really got anywhere else to do anything; my whole house consists of a living room, an eat-in kitchen, two bedrooms, and a bathroom. And my bedroom is far too small to have anything in it besides our queen-sized bed.

Grace's room has managed to stay quite cool today, for which I am grateful. She doesn't sleep well if it's too warm in her room, but it must be cool enough still in there because she's completely zonked out. The first summer we lived in this house, Grace's room was the computer room, and I was hard-pressed to keep it cool.

The funny thing is this is the first time Kurt's seen hot Washington weather! This is my fourth summer here, but it's Kurt's first June. The first year we lived here, he was out to sea from April to November. The second year, I was pregnant and his new ship sent him to school in Great Lakes, Illinois, from the end of May to the middle of August. The third summer, he was out to sea again from April to Halloween. So this is his first summer here! He won't be around much, though. He was just gone for five weeks (but home for Father's Day -- YAY!), and he'll be gone most of August. And August is when we get the really hot weather.

Remind me why I didn't buy that air conditioner? ;o)




previous * next