bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
07 June 2006

Smoky chilly day
So glad you all like my new template!! I've been so into makeup lately (I can be a girly girl when I wanna be) that I decided it was rather appropriate. Very purty, methinks.

As far as the more-than-one-entry-per-day goes, this template is written using a style sheet, and I don't know enough HTML to fiddle with it. I tried to do what was done on my old page, and it just didn't work out right. Quite odd. Most likely I will just try to keep myself from updating more than once a day.

There's quite the chill breeze blowing, although Weatherbug is now telling me it's a fairly balmy 67 degrees right now. It feels like the breeze is in the 50s, it's that chilly.

There is also new construction going on in my neighborhood, which means they're burning the brush and whatnot in preparation for building. Of course, I can't fathom where in the hell they could possibly be building on since the only lots left look extremely unbuildable, but somehow they manage. A house was built within the last year that overlooks the cul-de-sac next to my house, and it was built to face the cul-de-sac, even though it's on the street behind. The house's roof is just about on street level. I wouldn't want to live there, no sir. But with the smoke in the air right now added to the chill, it feels like late October, not June! I almost feel like I need a sweatshirt!

Today was commissary day. The parking lot looked fairly full when I approached, which made me nervous. Maybe everyone else had the same idea as me and went to the commissary today. It's not normally crowded a week after payday, so that was odd. But as I came up the first row in the parking lot with full intentions of going down the next row, I found a first-row parking spot!! I got nervous. I started looking around as hard as I could to make sure it wasn't handicapped or the base Commanding Officer's spot, or a flag officer's spot, or even the ombudsman's spot! [An ombudsman is the spouse of a service member who is the liaison between the spouses left at home and the chain of command on the ship.] And yes, even ombudsmen get their own parking spots... grrr. If I had parked in a spot that had a sign, I could get into serious trouble.

That's the other thing that cracks me up. People complain so much about their rights being taken away from them. And yet, the servicepeople in this country along with their wives can have their "rights" taken away, and we just say, "Sir, yes sir!" and move on with our lives. Did you know it's now illegal to use your cell phone while driving on the base? If the state of Washington tried that, everyone would be screaming rights violations. I haven't heard any kind of response to the base forbidding cell phone use. I don't care one way or the other anyhow. I try not to use my cell phone while driving to begin with.

Anyhow, so I went to the Navy Exchange look for a Tonka truck for my darlin' daughter. A few days ago when JD and I went to Costco, Gracie found JD's kids' old Tonka truck, and she had a blast with it. Plus I need more outdoor toys to entertain her when we go outside to play. Can you believe the NEX didn't have Tonka trucks?? Then again, their toy section is pitiful. Maybe on my way home from lunch with my friend tomorrow I'll stop at the bigger toy store at the other base. I did manage to find a new doll for her... of course!!

Actually it's good that I take Gracie to the commissary with me. I tend to talk to myself a lot (probably something I picked up from my stepmom *wink*), but if I have Grace most people just assume I'm talking to her! If I don't talk to myself, I get lost in what I'm doing. I'm weird like that.

Like I said, the commissary was fairly packed, which really surprised me, so once I was finished shopping, it took about twenty minutes waiting in line to get to the registers. Grace wasn't really happy about that, so I ended up giving her my book of photos to look at. My sister had bought me a mini photo album to put in my purse, and I've filled it up with all the professional photos we've had taken of Grace, as well as the best snapshots I've taken of her. Grace looooooves to look at this thing. She's rather vain. The only problem was when I wanted to put it back in my purse, she thought it was hers and informed the entire parking lot of the commissary, the NEX, and the gym of that fact.

I'm such a mean mommy.

And now Grace has been sleeping for two and a half hours, and that's rather odd. I'll have to wake her up soon if I plan on getting her to bed at the normal time!




previous * next