bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
01 February 2006

Motivation RULES
I am so in the zone it's not even funny!!!

If you know me in real life, you know I'm not too keen on housework. I love a neat house, but it doesn't have to be spotless, if you know what I mean. Dust usually accumulates in corners and whatnot because I really hate dusting (even though the Swiffer duster makes it way too easy to dust), and I probably don't sweep or vacuum as often as I should.

I also have a bad habit of putting things down on a horizontal surface -- ANY horizontal surface. I'm especially bad with books. I keep buying them, but I ran out of room on my one and only bookcase years ago. So I just sort of store them wherever I find room until I read them or box them up.

This means there are books on my coffeetable, books on my end table (I call it my stitching table because it's where I put all my cross stitch stuff for whatever project I am currently working on), books on my night stand, books on Kurt's dresser (because what else is a husband for but to take up all his space in the house as well), books on the floor next to my bed, books on the floor in front of Kurt's closet...

It sounds like my house is covered in books. Really it's not that bad. It's more like a book here, two books there.

But regardless, I do need to find another place for them.

GAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!! I just realized I missed Boston Legal last night. I knew I missed something!!!

Anyhow, so I'm in the zone. The sun is actually out today in Seattle (after getting 41 days of rain in the last 43 days), so I felt the need to go for a walk. Gracie walked from here halfway to the end of the street, which is probably an eighth of a mile. Not bad for a 16-month-old toddler!!! She got grumpy and tired, so I strapped her into my backpack and went another mile, I'm guessing. It's good exercise to have her there -- now I'm carrying an extra 25+ pounds!!

It just totally energized me to go on that walk. Now I see how people can say that they have MORE energy when they work out than when they don't. I guess you get the blood flowing and the juices running, and you just want to keep going. Usually at 12:30pm each day I'm on the computer reading email or writing letters (I am one of the few people who still writes snail mail letters) or reading diaries (although I'm woefully behind at this point) or finding new ways of avoiding housework.

Today it's 12:30pm, and while I am sitting at the computer I feel the need to get up and do more housework!! I've got a load of laundry to put in, books to put away (but where?!?!), surfaces to clean off, papers to recycle... the list goes on! But in a good way!! I'm all motivated to do this!!!

So I guess what I am trying to say is that if you feel like doing nothing, go out for a walk if you can. Getting up and out of the house may make you want to get the stuff done that you just don't have the energy for. What's the worse that can happen?? You just might enjoy your walk! :o)

Happy February!!!




previous * next