bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
06 December 2005

Goodbye Terry
You know, Terry, I didn't really know you. I was invited into the poker room because I knew Bucket, and she introduced me to Jux. From Jux I met you. I wasn't sure what to think of you because you were so quiet and shy, but then as time went on I realized that you were a sweet guy that was just shy.

You never talked about any of your problems; in fact, you never talked at all, not really. Once in a while you'd stick out your tongue at me or at Bucket, if we were being naughty. And that entire peanut butter joke (Costco sized jar!!) between you and Bucket was just too funny.

I had no clue you were sick. No one told me, and like I said you never mentioned it.

I completely spaced your 50th birthday party online, and for that I am truly sorry, for I shall never be able to make it up to you.

For now you are gone. And even though I didn't really know you, you will be missed.

Terry Bettinger 21 Nov 1955 to 3 Dec 2005

Yeah... what she said.

I did indeedy leave the house yesterday. I finally decided now was the time to get my brother his present, seeing as today I am supposed to go see Kurt because he's in port (sort of), and if I had left the gift till Wednesday I'd be running out of time.

I also had some software to return to Target.

Now before you start getting your pants all in a bunch, I know you can't return open software because of concerns of pirating the software. I used to work in a computer store in the customer service department; I get that. Although we did take open software back then, but I think they've wised up by now.

But see, I bought some print workshop-type software at Target for $20. It wasn't until I brought it home and cracked the seal on the box that I noticed the ginormous DVD letters on the front.

I don't have a DVD-ROM in my computer.

However, the software was still sealed in cellophane, so it was obvious I hadn't opened it. I was banking on that fact to get me a refund.

I showed up at Guest Services (I've never felt much like a guest at Target; I consider myself a "customer," as odious as that word seems to be) with my box of software and ended up with the girl with laryngitis, who shall now be referred to as Laryngitis Girl. I don't know why they hadn't made her stock products or something where she didn't have to talk to customers, but anyway. I explained the problem to her, and she told me in a whisper that she had to call this number to get authorization.

She was on the red phone for about five minutes while I managed to make a nuisance of myself just by standing at the counter with my cart. Sometimes there just is way too much activity at Target. When she got off the phone, she told me that the lady on the other end said that since the box was open, they couldn't return the software.

I then reiterated that the software was still sealed; all they had to do was stick a piece of tape on the bottom of the box (I had opened it fairly neatly), and they could resell th darn thing. Laryngitis Girl said she understood that the software hadn't been opened, but since the box had been she couldn't accept it.

I nearly opened a can of whoop ass on her.

Finally I asked to talk to someone else, and usually I don't throw that trump card because I did used to work in customer service, and I can tell when someone refuses me something because it's store policy (at which point calling for a manager is just a waste of his time and mine) as opposed to that person just being lazy. I don't think Laryngitis Girl was being lazy, but I saw no reason they couldn't give me my money back. The manager came over (who was using a white satin scarf as a sling for her arm; weird), Laryngitis Girl explained the problem, and the manager sighed and said, "Just give it to her."

SCORE!!!

Sheesh.

Now if I had bought the software without realizing it was a DVD and the disc was loose in the box, I would never have tried to return it because there would be no way to prove I hadn't copied it before I returned it. I would just have sucked up my $20 and gone on with my life. But since I had proof I didn't open it because the disc was still shrink-wrapped, I felt I had a leg to stand on.

So the agenda for today is wrapping my brother's present for him and mailing it (if I get that far), and going to where Kurt is to see him. He's trying to decide if he wants to come home for the night. I'm perfectly willing to do that, even though it means we'd have to leave the house at 5:45am tomorrow morning to get him back to the ship, but it's one day out of a year where I'd have to get up early.

I think I can make that kind of sacrifice for my loving husband. ;o)




previous * next