bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
05 December 2005

Should I stay or should I go
I am trying to decide if I should leave my house today.

See, I am mainly a hermit when Kurt's not home, which I guess is why we go somewhere every day on the days he's home. That usually tires us both out, so I really need to quit doing that.

I very rarely leave the house when Kurt's gone. I just don't feel like going anywhere, really, and the idea of lugging Miss Gracie around doesn't thrill me, that's for sure. Yesterday I didn't even open my front door, so my Sunday newspaper had to wait till today to be read.

And yes, I am one the few people in this world who actually gets the newspaper anymore. Not only that, but I get the local county newspaper instead of the Seattle Times or the Seattle Post-Intelligencer (which are printed on the same printing machines and I believe are owned by the same people), mainly because Seattle wouldn't deign to report on cool things happening over here, like a Julia Quinn booksigning.

Besides, I get all my national news from CNN.com anyhow.

The only problem I have with the county newspaper is that they get most of their non-local stories from the AP wire, which would be fine under normal circumstances. Only my local newspaper edits them to fit in a certain space, and you'll be reading along about some guy named Jones committing a crime, and all of a sudden they mention some other guy named Smith without his first name because he was mentioned earlier in the article, only the editor had cut that paragraph to save space. Sometimes they cut the story off mid-word in order to place an ad, and then you never get to read the rest of it, unless you're not too lazy to get on the computer to read it there.

But I digress.

I really should go to Target today because my baby brother's 17th birthday is in 10 days, and I really need to mail his present out to him. I have a gift for him already, but unfortunately he can't use it (long story), so I have to return it and get him something else. The poor boy is getting practical presents this year, mainly because I a) do not approve of his music and will not support the rap industry by giving them Kurt's hard-earned money, and b) cannot afford a game for his game system. $60 for a game is unreal. We don't even spend that on Kurt's video games.

Speaking of games, Kurt bought that video Texas Hold 'Em tournament game thingy for the ship. It's got six handheld monitors that plug into a console that then plugs into the tv, and so you can keep your hands private. I hope the guys enjoy it. Kurt says they were playing poker with real cards while they were out to sea. I think it will really come in handy for the guys who have to stand duty or who live on the ship.

I feel sorry for the guys who live on the ship. I know the Navy doesn't pay very much when you first join, and so the only option for these guys is to live on the ship. There are some good points -- you never have to cook because the galley provides you with food, you don't have a house to keep clean, and you can sleep in every morning (comparatively) because you have a one-minute commute to your workplace. But then it sucks to have to be on the ship 24/7, and to never have any real privacy. Oh sure, you have curtains to close around you in your rack, but you can't even change your undies without someone around you. Plus there are always those guys who think they're the cat's meow and wander around berthing totally nude because they think they have something to be proud of. Yuck.

So yeah... still can't decide whether to leave my house or not. I'll let you know if I did tomorrow.




previous * next