bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
04 December 2005

I need my own bed
When we bought our new mattress set, I thought that getting the queen-sized bed was going to be large enough for Kurt and me. In fact, when we got it home, it felt like we were swimming in a sea of mattress, and it was hard to find one another after sleeping together on a full mattress for a few years.

Now... it's just not big enough. And Grace can't even crawl into bed with us yet!!!

I usually go to bed a few hours after Kurt. He has to get up at 4am, I get up between 9 and 10. So I stay up late. He very kindly falls asleep on my side in order to warm it up for me, and usually moves back to his side without waking up when I finally make it to bed.

The problem is the animals, and we have three of them. The dog loves to be on the bed with us, and even though he's only 20 pounds, he may as well be more like 100 because he is immovable when he's asleep. The same goes for the fat cat, Karla. Between Koolit and Karla, there is no chance for me to get comfortable on the bed.

And forget about trying to snuggle the blankets up around one's ears. If Kurt hadn't already hogged them (not intentionally, but he always ends up with the lion's share of blankets on his side of the bed), the animals make it impossible to pull the blankets up. They're just too dang heavy on top of the blankets!!! So then I end up kicking them off the bed, which as often as not results in them simply finding a new place to snuggle on the bed.

I'm starting to think I need my own bed.

Woot.com has as its deal-of-the-day a Cuisinart coffeemaker that I had before I bought my current Cuisinart Grind & Brew, which coincidentally I got on Woot. And before you get all excited, unfortunately it is sold out already. I loved that Cuisinart coffeemaker and only replaced it in order to get the grind & brew feature in my current coffeemaker. The only thing I didn't like about it is the metal filter. I'm all for saving trees and whatnot, but if you grind your own beans at home, metal filters tend to let through WAY too much coffee "dust" down into the carafe, which doesn't make for yummy coffee. It sucks when you need a toothpick after your morning joe.

Also, for those of you who visit Woot.com regularly, I'm just so dang tired of the Wooters who constantly whine about what is being sold each day. I mean, how is the comment "This Woot SUCKS!" really useful to anyone!? How does it suck and why, this is what I want to know.

Plus Wooters seem to be really dang snotty about their stuff. Woot will put up a no-name brand something-or-other, and most of the comments are from people who say NOT to buy this no-name brand because their spiffy brand-name speakers or whatever sound SO much better than whatever the no-name brand can offer. It's like the forums are really only a place to brag about the sweet sound system you have set up for your computer or home theatre or what have you.

I thought Woot was for folks who want to get electronics stuff really cheaply. It's not like Woot is going to sell a new Bose surround sound home theatre for $50, although I swear people think that's going to happen one day.

You don't go to Big Lots looking for handmade silk scarves, for crying out loud!!!




previous * next