bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
02 December 2005

Staying home for Christmas
If my daughter keeps watching Teletubbies, she's going to end up speaking with a British accent.

I think it's pretty much settled that we are going nowhere for Christmas. This actually pleases me.

I really like my in-laws; don't get me wrong. I know our political views are totally different, but we get along quite well. I've never been made to feel like a daughter-in-law; instead I've been welcomed into the family as a full member.

But I really hate traveling, I really do. I don't like packing and getting ready and driving to the airport and getting there two hours ahead of time and waiting to check in luggage and getting through security and then having nothing to do for two hours because some airports forget that all the amenities are on the other side of security and worrying about seats (if you're flying Southwest) and worrying about how Gracie is going to sit still for three and a half hours and getting to Phoenix only to have to drive an hour and a half to Tucson, which has to be one of the most boring drives because there's nothing there but mostly flat desert.

So yeah. No, thank you. I did it back in August, and I have no real desire to do it again so soon.

Unfortunately, my in-laws are extremely disappointed because they were looking forward to seeing Gracie, for which I don't blame them at all. But I'm so used to the hands-off grandparent roles that my parents play that I don't really understand my in-laws' attitudes sometimes. I'm very glad they love Gracie so much; she's so lucky to have grandparents who dote on her like that. But I wish they would ease up just slightly, and when we tell them that we're not coming to Tucson this year because it's $700 for us to fly, that they would simply say, "We love you and miss you, but we understand that it's just not going to work this Christmas."

And then DROP THE SUBJECT.

We've told them that we're not coming down, and every time they call again, they ask if we've found cheap enough tickets.

Who in their right mind thinks that we could get afforable tickets two weeks before we leave without having a death in the family?!

And I'm not being a scrooge; I just think $700 for two people to fly to Tucson is outrageous. My parents got tickets to DC for two people (Grace had her own seat) for $400, and last year we managed to get to Phoenix and back for $184 each person. Even $500 is acceptable, although I'd rather pay $400. But $700??? For a week, week and a half? Too much. Especially when you consider that all you get for that $700 is the ride there; no one feeds you anymore, and some airlines are even cutting back on pillows and blankets.

Well, hopefully they'll get the message soon.

In weather-related news, it snowed all damn day yesterday!! And my neighbor and I in our infinite wisdom stood outside for 15 minutes or so and got soaked by the enormous wet snowflakes in the process!!! Then we wised up and she came over for coffee.

I think we got like four inches of snow. I haven't heard any official reports; that's just my opinion of what it looked like yesterday when I went to bed. It's less now because the snow has somewhat melted and compacted. But it's still on the ground, which surprises me.

I love snow!




previous * next