bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
04 November 2005

New photos!
Update on the photos: If you go to the Flickr icon to the left of this entry, you will see the new photos. I finally found the card reader above the computer. :o)
In weather news, it is currently raining like a mofo here in Seattle.

Now for those of you who don't live here, y'all would probably be thinking, "yeah so what? It always rains in Seattle."

Au contraire, my friend. It nearly always drizzles throughout the fall and winter here in Seattle, but real rain very rarely happens here.

And like I said, it is raining like a mofo.

This actually bodes well for the ski season, like I care since the last time I was on a pair of skis (the day before my 13th birthday) I managed to lose control and slide down the hill on my face, rendering the right side of it into what looked like raw ground beef. But at least this winter maybe I won't have to listen to the whiners on the news complaining about how we aren't having much a ski season here.

We live like an hour from Canada, where they actually did get snow last year. Suck it up. :o)

So Kurt is home, and this is definitely good. Last night we cooked dinner together, which was way cool, and he loves to play with Gracie.

I keep reading in my parenting magazines how men and women play with their offspring differently, and the two of us are so stereotypical it's not even funny. When Gracie brings me a book, I am more than happy to read it to her, or we'll sit on the floor and play with her blocks or her shape sorter. When Kurt plays with her, he gets all physical and tosses her around like a sack of flour or tackles her and tickles her. So it's a good thing he's home now because she's getting much different experiences from the two of us, which will really help her development. I just don't really know how to roughhouse with her, so I'm glad one of us does.

Belay my last regarding the rain -- NOW it is raining like a mofo, with the wind whipping the tree branches around like it's Armageddon or something. I just hope the power doesn't go out because of a downed power line. I'm not sure my fridge would recover from the shock.

Speaking of Grace's development, I know it sounds so cliche when I say that I think my kid is ahead of the power curve because ALL parents think their kid is the shiznit, but really... I see other babies and/or toddlers and I know Gracie is more advanced than they are. My friend R's son is seven months now, and he's still very much a doughy blob. First off, Grace was NEVER a doughy blob, and secondly, at 7 months, she was crawling and trying to pull herself up. She has always had a bunch more personality than most babies her age, and she's always so much fun to be around. The funniest thing she does now is get all indignant when you try to tell her not to do something. She's so funny that she cracks me up while I'm trying to discipline her, and laughing while you're trying to say no kind of ruins the moment. Ohhh but she's so funny.

Plus I think she's going to have a space between her front teeth -- just like her momma!!!

I will try to post more photos of Grace and her daddy soon, but Kurt went to work today without informing me of the whereabouts of his card reader, so I'll just have to poke around and find it. I prefer to use his camera over mine because his is so much smaller, but mine takes better photos.




previous * next