bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
27 October 2005

Stress stress and more stress
The stress last night from the computer issue actually hit a fever pitch in the middle of the night. Amazingly enough, I was in bed around 1:15am or so, which is QUITE early for me, and I turned out the light at 1:45am.

And proceeded to toss and turn for the next two hours.

I even tried sleeping on the couch in the hopes I could get some sleep! But that didn't work either.

Every time I turned the light off and closed my eyes, the stress level concerning the computer would affect me physically. My heart would race, my palms would sweat, my mind would race.

I finally fell asleep at 3:30am or thereabouts (3:30 was the last time I saw on my clock), and dragged my butt out of bed just before 10am. As soon as I was upright, the stress kicked in just as hard and persisted all day.

The sucky part is there is no reason for me to be this stressed out. The computer really does work just fine. I can play Pogo using Firefox or IE, and I can access everything I need to. I pay all our bills through my credit union's Web Bill Pay feature, so even though I have a problem with IE and security on some sites, my credit union's page is not affected.

What more do I need the computer for? It really ought not to matter if I can run Netscape or not.

And I just realized tonight that Firefox lets me use the "tab" feature that I loved so much in Netscape, so I have almost all the features I really loved.

So why the stress???

I think it's just stress about Kurt coming home that's manifesting itself by worrying about the computer. I mean, even if the computer is not worth fixing and completely dead (which it isn't), we can afford to buy a new one. And it's not so dead I can't get my photos off it first.

The only problem is I was physically ill most of the day. Fortunately, I have the world's sweetest sister (thank you much, Michele) and two great internet friends (especially you, Bucket) who listened to me whine all freakin' day. And I also took Michele's advice and ended up drinking two glasses of wine.

I still have a bit of a twinge of worry in my chest, but it's so minor in comparison to what I've been dealing with all day. Thankfully the last time I stressed like this was my senior year in college, so I shall fervently hope that I have another four or five years before I feel like this again.

In other news, I need just to get through Friday and Saturday before Kurt is home again!!! It's so weird to think that the next time I go to the commissary on payday, Kurt will go with me!!! YAY!! I really hate going grocery shopping by myself. The lines are usually at least half an hour long on payday, so I end up just playing with Gracie and people look at me funny. :o)

Besides, I'm looking forward to showing him all the renovations the NEX and commissary have made in his absence.

That's what happens every time he goes away; the world around me totally changes! :o)




previous * next