bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
26 October 2005

Round and round and round we go
First off, I would like to apologize publicly to my sister Michele for not saying one damn word today about it being her anniversary. I am so sorry, Chele. Please forgive me. I totally spaced that TODAY was your anniversary. No wonder you went out to dinner!! DUH!!!!

I'm sorry.

OK. On to the rest of the entry.

I knew it was going to be one of those days this morning. I should have just stayed in my jammies and watched tv all day.

I wanted to go to Mervyn's since they always have a Wednesday sale in order to look for a pretty skirt. I knew EXACTLY what I wanted; a denim skirt that was fitted around the hips and tushie but that had goring and belled out at the bottom. I've seen these damn skirts all in the magazines lately, and I think it would be a flattering shape for my body.

So I rounded up Gracie this morning and headed out. I had full intentions of taking the truck because it needed gas and I had to go to town anyhow. As I put Grace in her seat, I realized I had to adjust the straps on her carseat since she's been growing like a weed. That meant I had to take the carseat out, adjust the straps, and reinstall the carseat. I also got the stroller out of the Cavalier and put it into the back of the truck.

I get into the driver's seat, put the key in the ignition, and turn.

"ruv ruv ruv... clickety clickety clickety clickety..."

About a minute later, the audibles finally go off, informing me that I haven't put on my seatbelt yet.

GAHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!

This same thing happened when I let it sit for a few weeks before I went to Virginia. I had full intentions of taking the truck to the airport in order to run it. But when we got into the truck, it wouldn't start. I took it to Sears in late June and got a new DieHard battery and serpentine belt.

Now the same damn thing is happening again. It shouldn't lose power so quickly. It's been sitting three weeks, MAX.

So I get Grace out of her carseat, put her in the Cavalier, grab the stroller and put it into the trunk, and finally we're on our way.

I went all around our Mervyn's about three times (which isn't hard because it's awfully small), looking for a skirt. ANY denim skirt. No gots. They had career wear, but no casual skirts.

Off to Penney's. Here's where things got good. I managed to find two skirts that were acceptable but still not quite right. One I got in both a 14 and a 16 to try on, the other simply in a 16. The 14 did fit, a bit snugly, but it still fit!! The 16 fit better, however, but I didn't like that skirt as much as I liked how the shorter one looked on me. I decided to go with that one and headed upstairs (Penney's is our only two-level store in the mall) to the kids' department. They didn't have squat for Grace, so I checked out up there, where I found that my skirt, originally marked at $44 and clearance priced to $21.99, rang up as $10.77!!! SCORE!!!!!

I also managed to find some cute shoes at Payless. I don't really like Payless quality (which is sorely lacking), but they're the only place guaranteed to carry wide sizes.

Tonight I wanted to play some Pogo with my good friend Bucket, but Pogo decided to have some sort of internal implosion, as no one seems to be able to load the damn thing. I'm hurting without Pogo; I really am.

I took advantage of the lack of Pogo situation to try to fix my computer. My IE is corrupted, and the normal way of fixing a corrupted program is to delete it completely and start with a new version. Easy enough, right??

Did you forget this is WINDOWS we're talking about??

Apparently the only way to delete IE from a machine running Windows XP is to effect a hostile takeover of your registry. This scares the beejesus out of me. Hence, I am not doing it. I'll wait till Kurt comes home so when he mucks up the whole thing, I have someone to blame.

Bucket, in her infinite wisdom, mentioned that she had downloaded some patches and fixes and updates and that her IE was running SWELL! "Aha!" I thought to myself. This could work.

Yes, but this is Windows we're talking about.

I downloaded both the IE 6 and the IE 6 patch from Windows.com, which I can only get to by using Mozilla Firefox because neither my IE or my Netscape will install Flash for some WEIRD ASS reason, and you can't navigate Windows.com unless you're running the latest version of Flash. I attempted to install IE 6 and was told I am running a newer version of IE and therefore I cannot install it.

I thought IE 6 WAS the newest version.

I also couldn't install the patch because I'm not running IE 6.

Round and round and round we go.

Then I deleted Netscape, thinking that was the newer version of IE that was hanging up the installation. But I still couldn't install IE 6, which meant I lost all my Netscape bookmarks for no reason.

Now I'm back on Netscape, and Bucket managed to get onto Pogo, but it won't let me, and I'm just more frustrated than I can say.

Basically I can't fix our fucked up IE because our IE is fucked up. You should be able to get from Point A to Point B by using an alternate route, but in Windows, if you can't use the route they've selected for you, you're screwed.

I should just start using the damn computer for a paperweight.




previous * next