bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
03 October 2005

Finally!!
I just got an email from Kurt, time-stamped half an hour ago!!

Only, all the email said was, "test."

Let's hope he's more chatty in subsequent emails!

When Kurt re-enlisted this last time, he got a nice, big, fat bonus. Unfortunately, the government took 33% of it as taxes, but we got another 33% upfront. The other 33% gets doled out in installments to us at the beginning of every fiscal year.

The Navy's fiscal year starts October 1.

I still don't have our bonus payment in the account, and it came up on the September earnings statement.

It's not a BIG deal because I'm planning on using that money to pay off Kurt's truck (an extra $425 a month -- yeah baby!) because the amount of the bonus is roughly what we have left on the truck. I can't pay off the truck till Kurt gets home anyhow because the money will go into the savings account, which isn't in my name, and the loan itself is also in Kurt's name as he bought it before we were married.

I tell you what, Kurt wouldn't have bought that truck if we had been married....

But anyhow. I'm not sure why we don't have the money yet, but I refuse to worry about it too much. The Navy is good about giving you the money they owe you. But beware if they overpay you -- they WILL take that money out of your account as soon as they find that error, and if you've already spent it, you're screwed. A guy on Kurt's last ship got overpaid, thought it was some kind of windfall, and proceeded to spend it. The Navy realized their mistake and garnished his wages to pay it back. That guy was screwed, although it was his own damn fault.

In other bummer news, I haven't heard from Kurt since Thursday night. I'm not concerned for his safety since he is not anywhere near a danger area (THANK GOD!), but I am very lonely!! I'm used to getting at least four or five emails a day from him. I know he was on some kind of secret mission somewhere in the Pacific (could I get any more vague??? Well, that's all I know anyhow!), so they've probably shut down email for security reasons. It still makes me sad.

I suppose I should just remember that he's safe, and that he will be home in only a few weeks.

A friend of mine wants me to go to eastern Washington with her near the end of the month for the weekend. I am leaning towards NOT going. The few people I've talked to about it think I ought to go because it would be fun, which is too true. However, I have to take Grace. And while it's not hard to pack around a kid that's only a year old, it's just gotten really old. If Kurt were home and we were going together, it would be a piece of cake. But I'm about at my wit's end for being the sole person responsible for Grace, and I'm just tired of it. Don't get me wrong; I love Grace and I wouldn't know what to do with myself without her. I'm just not up to traveling with her at this stage, especially since Kurt will be home so soon. If she goes again later in the winter, which I am sure she will, I will go with her then and leave Grace with Kurt. I think I'm due to have some ME time at this point!! :o)




previous * next