bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
27 July 2005

Could I be a 16 again?!
It was off to the mall with Grace and me today since it was going to be blastedly hot, and the mall is nice and air conditioned.

I also conducted an experiment there, which consisted of Grace not having her pacifier for the duration. It wasn't a planned experiment -- I was halfway to the mall before I realized we'd forgotten the all-important binky -- but I wanted to see what would happen.

She did all right, though she did start to scream while I was checking out at Lane Bryant. But giving her my folding mirror/brush combo worked pretty darn well. She looooves to look in mirrors.

I don't think I'll be leaving the house without at least an emergency pacifier tucked into my purse.

I'd been reading all kinds of articles in parenting magazines about how messed up their kids' teeth were because of pacifier usage, and frankly that scares me. Grace is going to need braces regardless, since both Kurt and I required them, but I don't want to make anything worse. Apparently if a kid gives up the pacifier before the age of 1, then there isn't a problem. But Grace is 9½ months old right now, and she's not ready to give it up.

I'll keep trying.

But the best news of all is this -- I fit into size 16W Lane Bryant jeans!!! YAY!!! And they're low-rise too. Dark rinse... oh they're so lovely.

The only thing is the waist is a little snug, due to having been pregnant and now left with a bit of a paunch. My size 18s used to be snug in the waist too, and they'd tear holes in all my shirts. I hope these aren't quite as snug because I just started to stop worrying about tearing holes in my shirts, and I don't want to start up again.

But I'm awfully damn proud that I'm in a size 16!! I'm not even dieting, that's the crazy part. It's not eating out three nights a week. I'm going to really have to crack down on that when Kurt gets home.

I haven't been a size 16 for 6 or 7 years...

Can I puke, people?! Can I puke?!?!

Kurt emailed me today to tell me that the Chiefs' results will be out within the next 48 hours. They've got to be out soon -- the "congratulations for making Chief" paraphenalia goes on sale at the Navy Exchange next Wednesday.

Every time I think about it my stomach sort of rolls.

The thing is, he's got an excellent chance of making it this year. First, he's on a ship, and it's always easier to get promoted when you're currently stationed to a ship. Secondly, there are 100 people in his rate eligible to make Chief, and 69 of them will be promoted. So the odds are in his favor.

Now don't get me wrong. If he doesn't make it, I am still proud of him for the job he's doing, and I will never put him down for making Chief. It's all out of his hands anyhow; he's done the best he could over the last twelve years, and it's up to the Selection Board and the factors they want to see as to whether he makes Chief or not.

But if he doesn't make it this year with such good chances, it may be a lot worse next year. Last year only 10% of the people in his rate that were eligible were promoted, and this year it's 69%. Maybe next year it'll be 5%... you never know!!

Kurt definitely deserves to make Chief. He's an excellent leader (as much as he hates the "grunts" who work for him because they're lazy SOBs), and he's very good at what he does. He's a Gas Turbine Systems Electrical (GSE) technician, which means that he works on the consoles that control the propulsion engines for the ships. There's also a mechanical half to his job (a GSM), and he does a LOT of GSM work as well as the normal GSE work. He's the only GSE1 on the ship, so he's got a lot of responsibility, which he handles quite well.

Also, Kurt received a Navy Commendation Medal yesterday for the excellent work he's been doing on the ship. That's not a medal that they just hand out to people; you need to really work to get it.

Just keep your fingers crossed!! :o)

Kurt receiving the Navy Commedation Medal




previous * next