bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
26 July 2005

A day at the beach
Today Gracie and I went to the beach with J and a gaggle of kids ranging in age from 15 to 5. OK, it was only four, but it sure felt like a gaggle!!!

You'd think that once your kids hit 15 and 13, respectively, they'd be somewhat independent.

Yes, well, think again.

Anyhow.

So we had a lovely time at the beach, and surprisingly enough, Grace stayed put on the blanket I'd brought. I'd toyed with the idea of bringing her playpen or her travel crib, but I decided against it because we all know how lazy I am. But like I said, Grace stayed on the blanket. I didn't even need to run after her to bring her back.

I don't think she liked the feel of the sand under her fingers. I did catch her trying to nibble on a shell, however... crazy baby.

Plus since I shared the blanket, Grace thought it was highly amusing to use me as some kind of Mommy gym. After a while my back was killing me, so I tried to put a stop to Grace clambering over me, but she cried.

*sigh*

I have a strong minded daughter.

So I'm feeling about 85% of normal today, which reassures me that this will not last a month, the way my last cold did last April. Also, Grace's nose isn't quite as runny, but I am looking forward to the day that she's totally dried up. She hates my wiping her nose.

And another thing that made me feel a lot better... last night my stepmom called just to see how Grace and I were feeling since I'd told her that we were sick when she called on Sunday. How's that for well wishes!? :o)

Here's a photo of my undeniably adorable baby at the beach:

What, Mom??




previous * next