bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
25 July 2005

call from Kurt
I just got off the phone with my hubby!!

Sick?! Who's sick?! I'm on cloud nine!!! :o)

Have I mentioned that Sudafed is my new best friend?! :o)

I loooooooooooooooooooove me some Sudafed. I didn't realize it was actually going to work.

See, in my family, we have this thing against medication. We'd really rather not take it unless we HAVE to. My dad's the worst of all of us. He will suffer mightily and would probably have to end up in the hospital before he admits he's sick and needs medication.

OK, that's a bit of an exaggeration. He was, I'm not sure if he still is, on medication for high blood pressure, and he has asked me to pick him up some Nyquil so he can get some sleep.

But he very rarely takes any kind of medicine.

I would really rather not take meds either. I realize that most of it is quite safe, especially if you only take it in the short term, but it still makes me a little nervous to take meds.

Then again, I've been on birth control pills for seven years nearly continously, only stopping to get pregnant and realize I wasn't physically able to nurse after Grace's birth. I'm almost afraid to NOT take my BC pills because when I was in high school I would get the worst cramps and have to hole up in the nurse's office one day a month. One day the nurse had to tell me to stop throwing my body against the wall as I lay on the cot, but I was doing it to try to escape the pain of menstrual cramps since nurses couldn't give you even one Tylenol. For me, it was worse than being in labor, seeing as I got me an epidural halfway through labor. Then I couldn't feel anything!!

I can't even believe we had Sudafed in the house. I actually had a box that expired in January, but then I found the stuff the nurse-midwife had prescribed for me when I got sick last April. Generic Sudafed -- gotta love it.

We use meds so rarely in our house that having a medication expire before we use it up is the norm. I've thrown away a ton of bottles of acetaminophen because of that.

I'm afraid to throw away the Sudafed that expired, though. We have a huge problem with meth labs here in the Northwest, and the government is even trying to get a bill passed that would require a doctor's prescription to get Sudafed. I don't want to flush it either because I'm afraid it would do wonky things to my septic tank, like upsetting the bacteria levels. Plus I'd have to take each tiny little pill out of their shrink-wrapped packets, and that's just no fun.

I probably will just throw it away and hope no meth user finds it.

I can't fathom why anyone would use meth. There was an article in our local newspaper (I'm not sure if you need to register to view the article) talking about the damage that meth does to a user's mouth. And if it's decaying your mouth so rapidly, what is it doing to the rest of your body?! I mean, look at the ingredients, which can include cold medicine, red phosphorus from matchbooks, iodine, camping stove fuel, even fertilizer! No, thank you.

I also can't fathom why meth is such a problem here. I know that drugs are everywhere, but I can't remember hearing as much about meth in DC as I hear it about here in Washington. In DC, the problem is more cocaine -- I mean, even the mayor of DC was hopped up on it!!!

Damn Marion Barry... *sigh*

Anyhow. The upshot is that I feel better today. Hopefully I'm just about over my cold, and I even gave Grace some baby decongestant to clear her up. She also slept a really long time during her two naps today, so she's been asleep more than she's been awake today. It's nice to have that break, though. It won't be too long before she's down to one nap a day.




previous * next