bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
15 July 2005

Keep swimming, keep swimming...
Under the category of "when it rains, it pours..."

These are the days I need to remember when I get all sad and depressed and lonely. It's been a madhouse around here this week!!

(As an aside, I just realized I have no idea how many weeks it's been since Kurt left. I could possibly figure it out, but I don't really want to. I guess it's a good thing I haven't been keeping track.)

Yesterday was J's son's birthday (yes, the one that ran away), and for his birthday she decided to take him up to this campground where her parents own a lot. She called me the night before and asked me if I wanted to join them. Even though it involved getting up earlier than I like (I was up at 7:30am... blecch!), it was well worth it.

The day was soooooooooooooooooooo much fun!! We got up to the campground around 12:30, chatted for a bit and had some lunch. Then it was off to the pickleball courts. Pickleball is Ping Pong but played on a small tennis court, and I actually did pretty well, though I haven't played any kind of paddle/racquet and ball game since high school. I just can't hit the ball with a backhand to save my life!! J and I were raring to go, but after three games her kids were pooped. I can't believe the teenagers had no energy while J and I could have played another three games!! Youth is wasted on the young, I'm telling ya! :o)

We also went swimming. The campground has a heated pool which would have been too warm if it had been a hot day. But fortunately it only got up to about 75 degrees, and it was perfect! Grace loved the water! We found a lifevest for her to wear to make it easier on me to hold her in the water, and she would kick and splash and laugh uproariously. She definitely takes after her mom and dad; we love the water. I think once Kurt gets back home, we'll have to make going to the pool an every weekend kind of thing. That way I get a few minutes to myself in the hot tub!!!

Dinner was ribs and pasta salad, and then we took a tour of the campground with J's parents' golf cart. I'd gotten to drive it earlier in the day and had way too much fun doing it!!

I was totally wiped out by the time we got home last night, what with all that fresh air and exercise. Then I had to get up this morning and clean my house! It was a disaster. I've been really bad about keeping it neat, and there were papers and magazines and newspapers EVERYWHERE. Not good. But the house needed to be cleaned because I was having company!! My good friend HC from the Tacoma area drove out to see me! And without kids, too!!!

So I dropped Grace off at J's house, and HC and I went to Red Lobster to celebrate!! (No hubbies, no kids... major reasons to celebrate!!) She mentioned to the waitress that we'd left our hubbies and kids home, and the waitress gave us weird looks because we didn't take her advice to go clubbing tonight. It's just not our thing. Instead we went to Target, and came home to watch Moulin Rouge (she pronounced it "weird") and eat ice cream with hot fudge sauce. How extremely decadent. :o)

And this morning while I was in the shower, I was called up by that girl down the street, R, to see if I wanted to go to breakfast with her and her son this morning! I was so bummed that I missed her call; it was the second time I had done so. She'd invited me out for coffee a few days ago, but again, I wasn't home! I left her a message to tell her that she HAS to call me when she gets home so we can set something up. Now we're going to the mall next Friday to hang out and find some new shirts for her to wear to work. She goes back next week.

These are the times I need to remember when I am lonely. The problem is simply that it always ends up that when one friend of mine is busy happens to be the same weekend that they are ALL busy. I need to remember that it won't always end up that way, and that there will be times where I will be too busy to remember my loneliness.

As Dory says in Finding Nemo, all I have to do is "keep swimming! Keep swimming!"




previous * next