bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
11 July 2005

A 2% hazelnut latte, no whip, please
You Are a Soy Latte

At your best, you are: free spirited, down to earth, and relaxed

At your worst, you are: dogmatic and picky

You drink coffee when: you need a pick me up, and green tea isn't cutting it

Your caffeine addiction level: medium

What Kind of Coffee Are You?

Only I don't drink soy... ;o)

Speaking of coffee, though, I did get my new coffeemaker today!!! Of course, I got it right after I finished my one alloted (large) mug of coffee for the day, so I couldn't try it out. When I have both coffee and a latte in one morning, I get really hyper. It's actually kind of funny, how much and how fast I talk when I'm high on caffeine. I'm anxiously awaiting tomorrow morning so I can try out my new coffeemaker. It's huge, though! As Kurt would say, "It looks like it's going into space!" It can do EVERYTHING. Super high-tech. I'm almost afraid to use it. :o)

The one thing I don't like about it is it only came in white. I don't like the unsightly coffee stains on the carafe, but since I got from Woot for a damn good price, I didn't have a choice in the color.

The coolest part is it uses the same cone filters as my current coffeemaker. I thought for sure it was going to use rounds, and it uses cones. I just bought a zillion filters at Costco for all of $3, so I'm glad I'll be able to use them with this new coffeemaker. I would have been out only $3, but still... at least now I don't have to run to the store just for coffee filters.

Imagine! I'll be able to keep both regular and decaf beans in the house! I can have coffee any time of the day instead of just before noon!!

Oh I'm so excited!!!

I called my dad today, and we got to talking about his latest purchase. While I was there, he was checking out my mp3 player, a 20GB Rio Karma, and he really liked all the features. He managed to score one of his own before they became almost impossible to find (they're being discontinued by Rio in favor of a smaller model). He also liked my FM transmitter that lets me play my mp3 player through any FM radio. I mentioned in passing that if you want to use the transmitter in the car, it's a good idea to use the DC adapter because the batteries just don't allow the transmitter to output a strong enough signal.

Dad asked me, What DC adapter?

We went through this huge discussion about what all came in the package for the FM transmitter. I'd gotten mine at Walmart, and I told him to get it there as well because everywhere else I'd only seen the white version, and my sense of aesthestics was pleased to find a grey version to match my grey mp3 player. Plus it was cheapest at Walmart, for only $33 and change.

He didn't see the grey version at Walmart and instead bought the white version. The white version is really for the iPod, and as you can see, does NOT include a DC adapter.

The white version does, however, include some sort of cable for power if you buy ANOTHER Belkin cable to go with it, but it only works for iPods.

At Walmart.com, the items are the same price, even though Belkin retails the grey version for $60 and the white for $40.

My dad is not pleased. Neither am I, really. They look like the exact same product, except for one is white (to go with an iPod) and one is grey (for all other mp3 players). They shouldn't package the white transmitter with iPod-specific products because it says directly on the package for the white version that you can use it with any audio product, be it an iPod, other mp3 player, CD player, etc. I checked it out when I first saw the transmitter in Target, to see if it would work with my husband's RCA Lyra.

So now my poor dad is really not pleased with life. It didn't help that I asked to talk to my stepmom right after that, at which point he had to go find her because she apparently "wandered off."

I would hate to have her come down with Alzheimer's. I swear if she does, I'm attaching a cow bell to her.

A wonderful conversation ensued with Marty. She and I are really bonding quite well, which is nice after 15+ years of on-again-off-again toleration of one another. It helps that I am now an adult and can forgive her foibles.

Both of us love books (she's a librarian, after all), so what we've been doing lately is reading the same books. Usually she'll read one and then send it to me; I've sent her a couple of books, but she hasn't had time to get to them yet. Hopefully she'll read them and enjoy them.

On the Grace front, I swear she's going to walk at any second. It's really quite scary. She can stand on her own for 20-30 seconds, and when she starts to lose her balance she tries to regain it. Most of the time she's successful. When she does fall, she now knows to fall straight down on her tushie, which is well padded by her cloth diapers. She can cruise along the furniture like a pro, and one of her favorite things is to pull up on one end of the couch and cruise her way over to the other end, laughing hysterically. I don't know what's so funny about it, but she enjoys it.

My baby's only 9 months! She's not supposed to walk yet!! :o)




previous * next