bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
16 July 2005

I own Harry Potter!
I am now the proud owner of a brand-new copy of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. Don't worry -- I am not a fanatic about Harry Potter, but I do think they are well-written books that are worth buying.

I had no plans on buying it the day it came out. Even if I didn't have Grace, there was no way I was going down to the bookstore at midnight to buy it. My friends in college used to go down to the record store to buy a CD the night it came out, and I never understood it. Couldn't you just wait till the morning??

My plan was to wait till the next time I went to Costco, whenever that was, in order to buy the book. I figured that would be the cheapest place to buy it. I'd bought the last Harry Potter book there a year or so ago, and it was only $15 and some change.

I went to the commissary today for groceries, but first I went into the Navy Exchange to get a cereal keeper for the box of Cheerios I forgot to buy Grace at the commissary. While I was debating on which checkout lane to go through, I saw the sign that said that Lane 5 was only for people buying a copy of Harry Potter, and sure enough, there were several boxes of books (that I recognized from all the TV coverage Harry Potter's been getting in recent weeks) behind the counter. So I sauntered up and asked for my copy, and paid just $16.49, without sales tax. Not bad for a thick hardcover book!!

I guess I'm about halfway through it (it's a 700-page book, if you didn't know). I haven't had the time to sit and read like I want to, but it's not as compelling a book as I thought it would be. It's very well-written, as they all are, and I enjoy the plot. I just don't find it to be a book that I get sucked into and want to read to the exclusion of all else. I've had other things to do today, and while I wanted to be reading, I'm not upset that my chores got in the way.

Well, I am... but that's just because I hate chores!!!!

Plus I think I figured out who the Half-Blood Prince is, right around the time Dumbledore gave Harry some information regarding a poor but proud family of evil wizards. We'll see if I'm actually right.

The biggest thing I want to be doing right now is stitching. I just finished one for J, although I didn't take a photo of it yet because she wanted to get it framed. I don't know why -- it was a cheap 5x7" kit, so it doesn't warrant professional framing in my opinion, but it's hers to do with as she wishes. Once I finished the sampler for J, I found one for HC that I want to do, a "Welcome to My Kitchen" hanging sampler that will go well hanging on her fridge. So I've started that, and then there is another sampler I found in a magazine that I really want to do for someone. But that's a secret!!! :o)

[Speaking of secrets, my hubby told me a secret today, and I'm busting at the seams to tell it!! But I can't yet. I will inform you all of the secret once it becomes public... maybe next week.]

But I can't be stitching; I had to balance the checkbook first, and then I realized that I was late with my cell phone bill!! And Sprint.com wasn't recognizing my password, so now I'm locked out of the website. Fortunately, my bank has Web Bill Pay, or else I'd go mad. I'm just mad that I have to wait till Monday to have my password reset. Plus it's stupid that the site wasn't recognizing my password. I'm pretty sure I had the right one.

Oh well. Michele's always telling me the Sprint website is all mucked up.

*sigh*

It could be worse....




previous * next