bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
10 July 2005

Getting better every day
Kurt called me today, and we were able to talk for almost an hour. He can call me from the ship, and when he does that it's free! Free is good. In fact, we haven't paid for a phone call since he was in Japan. He put $20 on his AT&T card, called me from Japan, and we talked for an hour and a half. I think he's still got money on his card, but we haven't had to use it.

I suppose if the Navy's going to make Kurt be away from home for six months at a stretch, the least they can do is pay for his phone calls home!

The best part of his phone call was he was able to hear Gracie babbling away. I can take photo after photo of her, and sometimes I can get a little video on my digital camera, but she hardly ever "talks" while I'm filming her. Today she just wouldn't shut up, so Kurt got to hear his baby chatter away. That was too cool.

But after we talked, the cloud of gloom settled over me again, and I said, "THAT'S IT!"

I engaged in some retail therapy today, and now I feel much better!!!

I didn't even really buy that much. I started out at Macy's, just because I wanted to park away from the food court to maximize the distance I had to walk. I needed lunch because I was starving -- but next time I go to Quizno's and get the steakhouse dip, I need to remember to tell them not to put on the ranch sauce or whatever it is that they put on the sandwich. Yuck.

I love Macy's, at least for their baby section. They separate the boys' and the girls' clothes really well, which makes it useful for me to scope out the clothes quickly. Plus they tend to put things on clearance while they're still on clearance. And their clothes are VERY afforable, almost comparable to Target, but a slightly higher quality. Not as nice as Baby Gap, but still pretty nice. Their clearance is awesome too. Today everything was 50% off, with an extra 30% taken off at the register. I got two dresses for Gracie for a little over $7 total. Can't beat it!!!

I headed over to their lingerie department to get new bras. For some reason, I wear bras out in a matter of about a month. Bras that I bought from QVC in May are just about dead. They just don't support anything anymore.

And then you wonder why I want a breast reduction?!

Macy's sucked for bras today. They had some on clearance for $15, which is a reasonable price for a bra, but nothing fit!! I tried on the 38DD, the 40DD, and even a 40D. Nothing fit. I was so disappointed.

So I kept looking. Sears had just about nothing for lingerie, and their baby department was pathetic. I headed towards JC Penney's, which is my favorite department store because their quality is high, their prices are low, and it's the largest department store in the entire mall, the only store that's two stories. (I live in the boonies, remember??)

But then I was sucked into Lane Bryant and bought two bras (in a size 40D instead of the DD) for $15 each. I'm not sure I like them. When I first put it on, I was excited because it was the nice snug fit I like, but now that I've been doing stuff around the house, I'm finding that it rides up a LOT in the back.

Why is it that I can't find a bra that DOESN'T ride up in the back?? Every time I see bra advertising, it says that if your bra rides up, you're wearing the wrong size. OK, so then what size should I wear?? I have 38DD's which are too small, I have 40DD's which are too big, and my new bras are 40D and seem to fit well. But then they ride up in the back!!! I know for sure I'm a 40. I've taken the measurement with a measuring tape and came up with 40. It's the cup size that's getting me.

Just chop 'em off... I don't need my breasts!!

And come to find out, QVC is having bras as the Today's Special Value. It's okay -- I am interested in one of the set of bras they're offering today, but the other bra I have already tried, and that one rides up quite badly as well.

It would have figured if I'd gone bra shopping today and found something, only to have the Today's Special Value be what I was looking for. That's the way my life works!! :o)

Be proud, my house is (fairly) clean again!!! YAY!




previous * next