bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
09 July 2005

More people unclear on the concept
In a Past Life...

You Were: A Gentle Magician.

Where You Lived: North Canada.

How You Died: Hung for treason.

Who Were You In a Past Life?


That's pretty bad when a "gentle" magician gets hung for treason, and in Canada of all places!! :o)

Join me now in a rousing rendition of "Blame Canada"!! I can just hear the conservative right-wingers singing that now that Canada recognizes same-sex marriage.

What is it about letting two folks of the same gender get married that threatens so many people?? Does it really matter what Joe and Sam down the street do? If they get married, I fail to see how it will affect my marriage. And if your argument is that it will somehow destroy the "sanctity" of marriage, I think that we heteros have done a pretty damn good job of that on our own, seeing as most marriages end in divorce nowadays.

*deep breath*

Sorry. I got up on my soapbox for just a moment.

Hopefully tonight there won't be any more fireworks going off. I'm not sure if the folks in my neighborhood have noticed, but it is now July 9th (Happy birthday, Moira!!), five days AFTER the Fourth, and today definitely isn't fireworks-worthy.

Maybe they're related to the morons that poor Art has to deal with on Rent Day. These folks in my neighborhood aren't too clear on the concept of the Fourth, I guess.

Although I have noticed some decidedly redneck events going on in our neighborhood. PsychoWoman behind me has a male friend who drives to her house on a riding lawnmower. I wasn't aware they are roadworthy vehicles, but anyhow. Then he commenced mowing PsychoWoman's yard with the riding mower while drinking a beer, which made turning the lawnmower somewhat difficult. But he wasn't able to put his beer down. No sir! He just kept wrenching the wheel with his left hand each time he made a turn.

So today is a better day. Better than yesterday, anyhow. I went for a walk with Gracie and ended up at a garage sale a few houses down. B's son comes running up to me saying, "We're having a garage sale!!" So I replied, "You are?! Are you selling your garage?? How much is it??"

The poor kid looked at me with the most confused expression on his face. That remark totally stopped him in his tracks. Finally he shook his head as if to clear the cobwebs and went off to play with his brothers.

I am evil.... Bwahahahaha!

I bought Gracie some one-piece jammies in decidedly little-boy prints (B has three boys, no wonder), but they're jammies. No one will see them on her except me. I bought them because apparently one-piece jammies are not made for anyone larger than a size 9mos. Once your kid hits 12mos, she must wear two-piece jammies, which are just not practical. It's frustrating, to say the least.

There was another garage sale on the corner by someone definitely unclear on the concept of a garage sale. She didn't have much to sell (granted, it was 2pm by the time I was there), but it didn't look like she was low on stock. It looked like she didn't put much out to begin with. And what she did put out was pretty much only good for the recycling bin or maybe Goodwill. The one quality piece she had was this stoneware pitcher (chipped) that she wanted $25 for. I don't think she quite understood the concept.

Grace and I continued around the block to enjoy the beautiful weather. It was mid-70s today with a nice breeze, so I felt it was time for us to get some exercise. I also wanted to take photos to send to Kurt of the several new houses going up in our development. It's weird how slowly this subdivision has gotten built. My home was built in 1981, J's was built in 1990, and there are at least five houses actively being built that I know of right now.

At least it's better than what they're doing in DC. While I was there, I noticed that people were tearing their old house down and building a new one on the spot because it was just too much money to buy a larger home on another property. There's a house on the corner where Dad lives that is gaining a third level. It's already about 2000 sq. ft. -- how much house does one family need?! But that's another reason I won't move back to DC (aside from the traffic): everything is about image (how big your house is, how nice your car is, what brands of clothing you wear).

Yesterday was just a bad day. Gloom and doom and all that. I didn't really much want to do anything at all. Yesterday I really wished my stepmom were here with me so she could watch Grace for a couple of hours. I just needed some time, some space.

I found out that Kurt won't be home till November 5th. That's the same day he arrived home for his first deployment in 2003. That's also almost a full month after Grace's first birthday, which means that's another thing I have to take care of all on my own.

I should have known better, being a Navy brat. I just didn't realize it'd be quite this hard.




previous * next