bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
28 June 2005

The joy of a Swiffer
I have been seduced by the wonder that is the Swiffer mop. This, from the woman who scoffs at almost everything disposable.

Then again, I do use a fair amount of paper towels...

Yes, yes, I am a bundle of contradictions. And proud of it!!!

I love the idea that I can get a hair up my butt and have a clean floor in mere minutes. I can dry mop the floor, throw on a Swiffer wet sheet, and have my floor clean and smelling lovely in less time than it takes me to clear out the chairs and pet bowls, etc, for a full-scale mop job. And sometimes your floor doesn't need a full-scale mop job, just a little quickie.

Not to mention that I can walk across my newly wet Swiffered floor in my socks without ending up with sopping feet. This is always a good thing.

Today I bought Walmart brand Lysol spray. Yes, I know it isn't an air freshener, and don't even get me started on how stupid the sprays that kill airborne bacteria are. *sigh* We are getting to be way too germophobic a nation.

But I digree. The Lysol spray is for my daughter's diaper pail. I wash her diapers probably every three days (I really ought to do it every two, but I get lazy and she doesn't wear that many diapers in a day) as well as the diaper pail liner, but the pail itself still usually smells pretty rank.

**sidenote to Caroline: I don't think those freshener pads you sent me work... sorry!**

So I'm going to try Lysol-ing the hell out of the diaper pail on the days when I wash her diapers. I normally let the thing air-dry all day anyhow; we'll see how the Lysol works.

I also managed to find at Walmart a Cabbage Patch Kid that was "born" on Grace's birthday. I know it's goofy, but I have five Cabbage Patch Kids given to me by my parents, and I thought it'd be nice for Grace to have her own. Kurt and I have been looking for one born on her birthday for months. The only one we had seen we'd found at a Mervyn's in Tucson. We didn't get it for two reasons: first, we didn't want to schlep it back to Washington, and second, it was an African-American doll. Not that I'm racist, but I thought the whole point to African-American dolls was so that African-American girls can have dolls just like them. And Grace is not African-American. :o)

That's okay -- now that I look at her new Cabbage Patch Kid, I think we ended up with a Hispanic doll!! It's hard to tell under the harsh flourescent lights at Walmart, but now that she's home, she looks dark-skinned. I have no problem with it, but I'm sure my in-laws will have something to say about it!!

Take the MIT Weblog Survey



previous * next