bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
27 June 2005

Capt Obvious Strikes Again
Today was the trip to the dermatologist to see if the birthmark on Grace's hip needs to be removed. It's a congenital birthmark, seeing as Kurt has the same birthmark in the same place.

Actually the first time I saw his birthmark, I thought it was a tattoo. Hey, I didn't have my glasses on at the time!! *wink*

The dermatologist looked at Grace's birthmark under a bright light, then measured it. Now I know it's 7cm by 2.5cm. Plus it's a medium brown color, like coffee with a bit of milk in it. There's also one dark brown, almost black, mole inside the birthmark to one side, and I noticed today she has hair growing in parts of her birthmark.

Once the dermatologist measured it, he gave me two choices -- I could have it removed, or I could leave it and monitor it. Thank you, Captain Obvious!!

I think at this point I will just leave it alone. There is a higher chance of it turning malignant due to its size, but then Kurt has the same birthmark and his, at the ripe old age of 31, has yet to turn malignant. I'm leery of putting Grace under anesthesia at such a young age, and plus I'm still getting over the trauma of her birth. I really don't need to see needles stuck into my baby all over again. I don't think she should have surgery to remove it this early in her life because it may never become malignant. I will, however, instill in her the importance of keeping an eye on it and having it checked out every so often.

After that rather pointless appointment (and I have another one in eight weeks), J and her daughter S and I trekked off to Joann's, my second favorite store. It's a close second to Michael's because its stitching department is very small, and I just found out that our Joann's is phasing out the cross stitch kits altogether, at least till Christmas.

But I found these fleece quilt kits on a steep discount, plus a few cross stitch kits that were on clearance for 50% off. So while I spent almost $50, I got a lot for my money, which isn't easy to do when you're talking about crafts.

Here is the end result!! It successfully kept me out of trouble for about five hours today. Isn't it pretty?!

Comfy fleecy quilt



previous * next