bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
26 June 2005

Did you say New Jersey?!
Poking around on the internet again, this time looking for airfare to go to Tucson to see the in-laws.

I wasn't getting anything all that cheap, so I went to Alaska Airlines' website, where I managed to get airfare to Phoenix for a measly $184 roundtrip at Christmas.

I put in Seattle as the departure and Tucson as the arrival city....

And one flight gets routed through Newark!! As in NEW JERSEY!!!

Hello?!?! Who would want to fly from here to New Jersey to get to Tucson?! And for $602, to boot?!

If I were single (as in without my daughter), it wouldn't be too bad; you overnight in New Jersey, so I guess you could go to NYC. Not knowing the geography of the area, I could be dead wrong, though...

I also see a fare for $3000 from here to Tucson, flying coach!! Two months from now. I don't get it.

Does anyone else's cat lick the mini-blinds to inform its owner that it wants to eat?! Or is that just my crazy cat?!

I wasn't in a bad mood, per se, earlier this evening when I sat down at the computer to fiddle around, but neither was I jumping for joy.

But now I am all weirded out, mostly because I was stricken with an attack of nostalgia and so attempted to find a couple of people through the magic of the Internet.

Sadly enough, my attempts failed miserably, but I did get suckered into putting a profile on Classmates.com. Of course, the folks I am looking for aren't nerdy enough to have profiles on Classmates, which made my job lots harder. I did get a good giggle out of the folks that were on there because they're just as nerdy as I am!!! It also reminded me of a last name that was bugging me, ever since my dad gave me my 6th grade class photo.

And no, I will NOT post that photo. Ick.

One person I was looking for out of sheer curiosity, to see if he was still where I thought he was. He appears to be, unless he's moved back home, at which point I could have been within three miles of him just a week ago.

The other person, well... I miss her. Lots. I was thinking about her when I was home because I was hoping her mom still lived there, but I wasn't sure, the way folks move around in DC. Rent gets to be a little much because the property value goes up, so you have to find a new place to live. My mom even asked me about her when I was home, which really got me thinking about her. She could be in Virginia, she could be in California (which I find unlikely), she could be in Massachusetts (most likely), but hell, she could be anywhere! And it's not like I have a whole lot of info to go on anyhow.

Sometimes I wonder if I should try to find her again. I mean, she was lost to me already once before, and then my good friend found her for me in time for me to be able to see her during a spring break in college. We just slowly lost touch again, and now I have no clue where she is again.

What really got me thinking about her is this letter I found that she wrote to me when we were best friends in high school. I don't recall the situation because it was ten years ago, but I guess I got mad at her because she told someone something (so very high school of me). She was so apologetic in this letter, and I got to thinking that maybe I wasn't very nice to her while we were friends. That saddens me because really she did mean the world to me.

As I poked around on the internet, I found some folks with her name working in Oregon and Washington, so my mind started to race to figure out how I could go see her if it turned out to be her. On one website I even found a photo of a few people, one of whom was supposedly someone with the same name. It wasn't a good photo to tell who was in the photo, but I doubt it was her. It also doesn't help that her first name is usually shortened, and in its shortened form it's also a male name.

By the way, if you're reading this, my dearest Watermelon, there are a whole TON of people with your last name in Nova Scotia. If you were wondering. :o)

So basically I'm just lost. Should I work harder to find her? Should I let her go? Should I just sit and twiddle my thumbs?!

I'm just at a loss.




previous * next