bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
23 May 2005

Such a MEAN mommy!
I am definitely the world's meanest mommy!! I enter the following as evidence:

See?! What happened is this: Grace loves to look out of the window in her bedroom, which overlooks our sideyard. So she has plenty to look at. Usually she clings to the window frame and gnaws on it. She can hold herself up pretty well -- you should feel the biceps on this baby!!!!

So I decided to try to get a photo of her clinging to the window like a monkey. I set her on the floor and grabbed my camera. I put her back on the window and stepped back to take the shot. At that second, I realized she was falling, so I threw the camera into the armchair near the window and grabbed Grace well before she hit the ground. No harm done.

I must have scared her pretty well, though, because she cried a bit. This is what she looked like right after I caught her.

The funny part is she's trying to smile because even now she knows what a camera is for, and she tries her best to pose for it!!

I must be the world's most evil mommy. :o)

Is anyone else excited that the Food Network has decided to put Iron Chef back on this week?! All last week, for some reason, they weren't running Iron Chef. I'm not sure what they had on at 11pm; it could have been Iron Chef America. I watched the first two episodes of that show and have given up. So now I fill my Wednesday and Sunday 11 o'clock hours by playing on the computer and vowing that I'll get to bed early. Does it happen?? Not usually. Now I will get to watch Iron Chef again this week; I may have to wear my Iron Chef t-shirt that Kurt bought me last week even though he was out to sea.

I have had to banish my dog while Grace is loose on the floor. Now that she can crawl, she likes to go bother Koolit as he minds his own business in his bed. Saturday afternoon I was on the phone with my stepmom when I heard Koolit growl and Gracie begin to scream. I grabbed her up and saw no injuries at first, but later I realized he'd bruised her cheek a little and scratched her by her nose.

So now if it's time for Gracie to have floor time, Koolit goes outside or he gets shut into my bedroom. It's really been no problem; he likes to be outside anyhow, and when he's in the bedroom I think he enjoys the uninterrupted naps he gets. He usually would move out of the way when Grace would head for his bed when he was napping; I think when he scratched her she got a hold of him when he was sleeping and he just reacted. But I can't trust them together anymore. Oh well. At least I don't have to give him away -- which I would do my best NOT to do. Koolit is already 9 years old; he would probably be put to sleep if I gave him up. Besides, I love this dog. I just love Gracie more. :o)




previous * next