bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
20 May 2005

So THAT'S what they're saying!
I am, at this moment, watching my husband's screen name log onto AIM and promptly log back off again. This is extremely frustrating to me as he is in Japan right now, and the last time I got to chat with him was when he was in Hawaii. I have no idea why he can't stay connected to AIM, but it is highly frustrating.

Poor guy...

I have been listening to my mp3 player almost as much as I have been listening to 96.5 Jack FM, which used to be 96.5 K-ROCK, and should not be confused with other Jack FMs around the country. I absolutely am loving having the Beatles backed up to Janet Jackson, followed by Aerosmith and The Commodores' "Brick House." And like the good little Northwest resident that I am, there is the obligatory Nirvana Unplugged in New York.

As an aside, I always think of my good friend from high school whenever I hear Nirvana. He will most like be completely flabbergasted at the connection, but in 10th grade we used to hang out a lot, all of us. We were over at Chris's house one day, ostensibly for Odyssey of the Mind but really just to screw around, and Chris had the CD of the Nirvana album with the kid floating in the water. I am not that old, but this was when CDs weren't all that prevalent; I don't think I had a CD player yet. My my, how time flies!! We listened to the Nirvana CD, and my friend mentioned how the lyrics to "Heart Shaped Box" make no sense -- "I want to eat your cancer when you turn black." I'd have to agree with him. :o)

Well, that really wasn't much of an aside, now that I think about it...

Because the whole point I am trying to make is that with all the listening of music I have been doing lately, I am finally hearing some lyrics. I never have been very good at deciphering lyrics; I either resort to liner notes or I fake 'em. My brother used to fake the lyrics all the time when he was little, and it would annoy the piss outta me. Now I realize that *I* do it (which is probably where he got it from), and I always think of him.

So now I finally realize that in "What I Got" by Sublime, the line goes "I don't get angry when my mom smokes pot / hits the bottle and goes right to the rock." See, the whole "and goes right to the rock" part flew by me; I had no idea what he was singing. I would just blabble during that part. All of a sudden it just came to me in a flash.

And it's been doing that in other songs too. I can't name any others off hand, but it's quite odd. I don't know why I can hear lyrics now. It's a weird sensation from someone who's never been able to figure out lyrics before. I'm not an auditory learner; I need to SEE it in print. You could teach me all the new Spanish words you want to, but I can't remember them unless I see them written down. This is why my friend Hannah's attempts at teaching me rudimentary Korean always went down the toilet. :o)

This is not to say that I can teach myself something by reading about it. I need it demonstrated to me, which is why I don't crochet, as desperately as I would like to. It's quite a bit more mobile than cross-stitch.

Which reminds me -- I have been on one of my off periods in stitching. It may be that I'm tired of the sampler I'm working on. It will look lovely in my bathroom when I'm finished with it, but some of the colors are very close to one another, and I've had to fudge parts of it. It's one of those samplers that you have to change colors every few stitches, and it's so much faster to stitch large areas of one color or another. I hate having to tie off and start again. I have the entire basket and lavender done; all I have to do is the sign that says "Lavande" and the neutral areas on either side of the basket, plus the details in backstitch. You would think I'd have it done inside of a week. But I get bored easily. By the way, it is a counted cross stitch sampler, but the details around the stitching are printed on the cloth. It's a pretty neat way of going about business.

I guess Kurt's given up on the whole AIM thing. So sad. At least he tried!




previous * next