bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2001-02-12

Bikes in our future
Note to self: When writing HTML pages, you need a BODY tag, especially when you're using a style sheet to set the attributes of the stuff that goes in the body. Else your background colour won't work. This is my lesson for the day...

DUH!!! Only took me an hour or so... Blah.

Damn Netscape. Internet Explorer was letting me get away with not having a BODY tag.

Le sigh.

**********

Ms. Starbucks Lady is back!!! Her hiatus of a full week is over!!

She was really sick, that's why she couldn't come in. She says she's feeling better, which I certainly hope is true. I missed seeing her.

She's one of those people that you look forward to seeing every day. Always with a ready smile, always with a kind word, always able to take a moment just to see how things are going with you. She is really a lovely person.

And I'm really glad to see her back. :o)

**********

I have tried out the headset that Dad gave me for Christmas to use with my cordless phone. Now I'm almost as geeky as he is.

Generally, Dad just sits up in his office at his computer for whatever time he spends at home while not asleep. And when someone calls, he puts on his headset for the telephone and talks to them. In this way he keeps his hands free, so that he may continue to work and to email folks and not pay attention to whatever you're saying.

"Dad, are you listening?"

"mmmmm... What was that again?"

Dad is just enamoured of his computer. :o)

*********

I took a three-day weekend this weekend. It felt GOOD. I missed a quiz in Christian Origins, but that's ok because the professor drops the worst three grades. And the quizzes are generally really easy.

Friday Kurt and I went down to Ocean View, back to da hood, to eat at Mama's Italian Kitchen. I'd been there once with my mother when she was living in Chesapeake, and it was supremely wonderful. So I wanted to take Kurt there. But after driving all the way out there, we noticed the sign on the door that said "Closed" right above the sign that read that the restaurant was open from 11am to pm. There was no closing time listed; I guess it had fallen off. We looked in; sure enough, Mama's was closed. For good, it looked like. The funny thing was Momma had mentioned that it may be closed since the folks that ran it were rather elderly... They may have died.

Yet another bastion of my childhood gone... Right next to the hole that used to be O'Hara's...

So on Saturday we trekked out to Virginia Beach. Kurt had wanted to take the puppy, but I didn't want to deal with having to watch that carefully over him and make sure he was a well-behaved puppy. He hasn't been too well-behaved lately. Right as we got down to the beach, I said to Kurt, "We should have brought our roller blades." Hindsight is 20/20. :o)

We've decided we're going to invest in a couple of bikes. I have one, of sorts, but it's at least 10 years old now and I think Mark has claimed it. And Kurt just doesn't have one. But we figure that if we go biking every weekend, for a while, that it will help us get into shape at least a little bit. It's better than sitting on our duffs all weekend, at least...




previous * next