bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2001-02-14

Happy Val's Day to YOU
When I logged onto Diaryland just now, I read Andrew's comment about being able to fill out a profile so that people can search you out by your interests and likes. He says you can search, for example, for folks who like Robert A. Heinlein, Barenaked Ladies, or GoodFellas. All three are in my profile. Weird....

**********

I have a boyfriend. This means I'm supposed to love Valentine's Day, right?

Actually, I'm not too enthused about it. It's not like I'm going to make Kurt take back the rose he gave me (and the three roses he gave to my roommate and suitemates) and the balloon with teddy bear ceramic figure.

But if he hadn't gotten me anything, and we had just spent time together, that would have been fine too. I just like being with him, ya know?

I've read a few diary entries today about Val's Day... I wasn't aware that all the girls in high school get flowers and teddy bears. I must have either missed that, or my school didn't do too much in the way of that. I think the only time I got roses at school was for my ex's and my anniversary somewhere along the 22 months we dated. Girls at my high school were constantly getting flowers and balloons for their birthday or because they won the basketball game the night before or because they were the star in this year's musical, so Val's Day wasn't any different.

Kurt and I celebrated last night. Tonight everything in da Burg is booked already -- Officer S. told me that he'd made reservations for him and his wife two weeks ago. I think tonight is going to be ordering in from Papa John's or Sal's...

I got Kurt a DVD. I took him to Target last night and said, "Pick one." How romantic, eh?? But what do you get a guy for Val's Day?!?! He's already got tools -- more than he knows what to do with. Hmm, what else? I did get him a stuffed heart earlier this week. I don't think flowers are very manly, or candy either. Dammit, men are too damned hard to shop for! Women are easy -- if I had a girlfriend, she'd get roses or candy or a stuffed animal or all three!

But I don't have a girlfriend so that's irrelevant.

:o)

**********

I have finally painted my toenails. It's been somewhere along the lines of three months or so. The blue it had been (called something like New Year's Eve by Maybelline -- metallic blue with green glitter) was almost totally gone. It was time for a change.

I paint my toenails because I have no fingernails to paint. I bite them to the quick. I had stopped biting them my freshman year, but that lasted maybe a year.

It was frustrating because my nails would never get very long, and then once they were long enough to paint and look decent, they would tear off. It was a never-ending battle. It's just easier to bite them all off.

But the Fuzziest of Tomatoes has managed to quit biting hers, and her nails are starting to look pretty damn good. Maybe I should follow in her footsteps...

**********

My Val's Day card to Kurt's parents won't go through!!! ARGH!!!

Not to mention I haven't done my homework in a couple of days.

Not to mention I found out this girl I hang out wiht in two of my classes has NEVER gotten less than a full-fledged A here in college. And this isn't quite a fluff school. So you have to be damn smart to get straight A's.

Have I ever mentioned I've never gotten an A? A few A-'s...

But that's ok... it won't matter in a few months anyhow, right? :o)




previous * next