bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-09-26

"Do you have a resume?"
WHEW!!! *wipes sweat from brow* Damn, I'm glad that's over.

Today was the Career Fair here at school, and we had a good turnout company-wise. I talked to eight (nine, if you count TruChem Lawn Company, or whatever they're called -- their openings just didn't suit my style) companies looking for computer science and IT folks.

Yeah, yeah... I shouldn't even be worried about getting a job because I'm a comp sci major and everyone will be clamoring at my door to hire me. They'll be beating each other up just to sign me, yes? *shrug*

The thing is I don't think I want to program for the rest of my life. I'm not that great of a programmer; it's something that comes fairly naturally to me once I know a language, but my code usually doesn't work. I'm not too confident in my skills, and I'm really looking for a company that will train me more. Now I don't need basic C++ or whatever; I know all that. I just want the company I work for to make sure I'm up to speed with everyone else.

That's my other question -- should I be up to speed with everyone else straight out of college? Everyone I've talked to, adult-wise, says the company will train me, but I'm not sure that holds for high-tech companies. *sigh* I just don't know lots of things.

I'm sure everyone out there has had the same questions and doubts I have. I just needed to get it all down on paper or something and reflect upon it.

I just want a job!!!!!

Heh. So I talked to several companies -- two of them really stood out because they allow good lateral movement within the company. That's what I'm looking for: the ability to have a job, but then decide at some later date that I don't really want to do that for the rest of my life and move onward. To me, that's what a career really is, learning new things and applying them, and changing things up every once in a while.

One company I talked to was super aggressive because they wanted to make sure that I knew what I was getting into, should I show interest in their company. Their company is all programmers -- the CEO, the managers, everyone. So, as the gentleman put it, they have no fat sucking up all the profits. Starting salary is $90K. I kid you not. BUT, and this is a HUGE but, it involves 60 hours a week of nothing but coding, from 9am to 10pm, sometimes 11pm. And they do their development on-site, which means travel. Every week. As the gentleman I spoke to put it, there is no light at the end of the tunnel. That's your job, and there is no "try." (Yes, Yoda.) You can't try out this job to see if you like it; you have to DO it. Period. But I got a t-shirt from him. :o)

Career choices.... oy vey. What I wouldn't give to be a sophomore or a junior right now!! :o)

And all this stress caused major sleeplessness these past two nights -- I got maybe four hours of sleep on Sunday night, and last night I know I was still awake at 3:15am, when I actually went to bed around 1am. Hopefully, it'll all blow over in another few days... I just am looking forward to the weekend. Majorly!!!

Take care......




previous * next