bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-05-27

New friends
Almost 5pm in the afternoon, and I'm STILL groggy. I went to bed at 2am last night because I was chatting to Kurt online, and I didn't wake up till almost noon. I got up to eat lunch with the family, but went back to bed when they left to go to a barbeque. I finally got out of bed for real somewhere around 3pm... took a shower and got dressed. But I'm thinking I've been up long enough, and will probably at least lie down again when I finish this entry. I just don't know what's been wrong with me lately... Then again, I just worked five full days, 9-hr shifts, in a row. That used to take it out of me when I was used to working full-time....

I went BOWLING last night! Rica, Enzo, and I were supposed to go, which would have been just about the first time I've hung out with people outside of work... but Enzo declined at the last moment. So Rica and I went, and I took Mikey along with us. I had a blast!! :o) Rica completely kicked our butts, even though I would start out each game strong (with either a spare or a strike), but then my skills would disappear. It's ok... winning isn't everything. The funniest thing was all three of us ended up with a 52 (yeah, we were sucking) on the sixth frame. We just sat back and admired the score for a few minutes.

Rica and I went out with her cousin the night before that to see Mission Impossible:2. It was good... better than I had expected. But I wish that the man behind us didn't have to give a running commentary throughout the whole thing. And that the woman next to him would have waited till the movie was over to have a long conversation with her boyfriend. And that the young couple with the baby would have found a babysitter for the night. Finally, a guy up front got tired of listening to the baby's cries, and he yelled, "Keep the baby quiet!" Of course, the entire theatre cracked up, myself included. Oh, and at least three or four cell phones went off during the movie... Ah, well. All in all, it was still a good movie.

It's nice hanging out with Rica outside of work. She's a cool girl -- she understands not being "girly" and knows how to laugh and have fun. I can also talk cars with her... it's mostly all we talk about. It's been a while since I had a girl friend to hang out with here in noVA... And she lets me drive her brand new 2000 Honda Civic LX!! EXCELLENT!! :o)




previous * next