bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-05-21

Sleeping patterns
Ahh, the last days of my vacation are drawing to a close. It's been nice having this little vacation from having to do anything -- I've enjoyed the freedom of being online as much as I want to, or reading Harry Potter books (read all three in a week), or just sitting and doing my new celestial cross-stitch. I don't have to think... and that's rather glorious. Relaxing....

This has been the first vacation I've had in a while, one where I don't have to stress about what's due when I get back to school. Spring break was nice and relaxing, but I had papers and midterms and take-home tests to worry about the whole time. Christmas break I took no time off to relax. The day after I arrived home, I started work at Microcenter and worked 40+ hours a week for the next five weeks. I guess that's why I've been sleeping a lot lately.

I have a put-myself-to-sleep ritual. I get into bed, snuggle down into my handmade quilt that my boyfriend's grandma made, and reach for a book. Lately it's been Harry Potter, but Callahan's Chronicals (that's the way it's spelled on the cover) fills in when I have nothing else to read. I tend to read at least twenty minutes before I sleep -- it's my way of slowly relaxing my brain and preparing my body to sleep. Only lately I've been reading a lot later to tire myself out, and when I finally shut off the light it still takes me an hour to fall asleep. I'm getting to the point where I don't want to shut off my light, and I'm almost willing to give up the joy of sleeping to just stay up all night and not have to fall asleep. It's such a strange feeling... I'm not sure why I don't want to sleep. I'm not having bad dreams -- when I do dream, I have weird dreams, but that's inherited from my dad. He's got some VERY off-the-wall dreams.....




previous * next