bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-04-26

The bliss of overalls
Ooof!! What a day... I'm so good at procrastination it scares me. But hey, I can whip out a paper in an evening, and I have nothing else to do tomorrow. Let's just see how Potkay likes it..... At least my sister's diary page is done now!! :o)

For those of you who are wondering, the icon underneath this text is of Angelina Jolie, and it takes you to a site for unladylike women. Anyone who knows me knows that I hate being ladylike. I've been that way all my life. I didn't choose the athletic route that Franny did; I've always had my nose buried in a book. But overalls have always been my favourite thing to wear, and dresses have never held any attraction for me. My mother never understood this. When my dad got custody of my sister and me when I was six, my stepmom cut my long blonde hair extremely short, so the next time my mother saw me, walking next to my sister down the airport hall, with short hair and wearing overalls, she thought my sister had picked up a random little boy to care for. That's my sister for ya -- she picks up strays. :o) Fast forward ahead about ten years, my junior year in high school. For picture day, I wore my favourite blue plaid buttondown with a white t-shirt underneath. My mother was appalled -- told me I looked like a "dyke." It's nothing bad about my mother; she just doesn't really understand that I'm a tomboy and always have been. She and my sister love to dress up... the dressier the better. I only dress up if I have to, or if I want to impress a guy. I am unladylike. I can simulate a lady if I have to when it's appropriate to refrain from acting uncouth. But I like who I am. I like being a woman, that isn't girly. I like the fact that I don't like girly music -- give me Metallica or something along those lines. I didn't even pick a "girly" instument to play, although I've met more and more girls who play cello. It's usually pretty cool being me, and I'm happy. :o)




previous * next