bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-04-25

Summer foreboding
STOP THE INSANITY!!! Oh dude... I think I started another entry like that. But I'm too lazy to go look and see. So it'll stand. And if I did start an entry that way already, so be it.

Here I am staring at the summer. And what have I to look forward to?? Working at Microcenter. Oh joy. Microcenter really isn't so bad, if you subtract the fact that my ex works there. OK, he's not so bad either. I'm just slightly worried that this psychopath that used to work there will come back and start shooting, sort of like Columbine. And before y'all tell me, Karyl, that's in bad taste, let me explain about this man. His name is Mike, and he did far too many drugs in the 60s. I think he's still high from them. He comes into work with bloodshot eyes and really yellow teeth, and when you start to talk to him you realize he's not listening to you, and that he has that "deer in headlights" look about him. He says the most random things, things that aren't even related to what you're discussing with him. And Mike was "let go" not too long ago. This was after he started making outrageous claims like he was Fidel Castro or that he lived through World War Eight. Then someone overheard him threaten to poison the general manager and the retail sales manager. Hence, he is no longer employed by Microcenter. But the general consensus of all who know him is he will come back to blow all of the other employees to bits.

Thinking of Mike made me think of David. Ach, such a wonderful man. He's a man who's rather large, rather tall, and wears the worse flowered ties from the thrift store. He was the head of the bookstore at Microcenter, and my ex and I always called him Doper because his name was D(avid) (S)oper. I loved Doper because he was so kind to me, always ready to listen and talk, always ready with a hug for me. He was also let go... last Christmas. One day he was there, the next he wasn't. He'd gone in for heart surgery, and the following week, the management "found" merchandise in his bag, and he was fired for stealing. I don't believe one bit of it. I think he was framed. And you wonder why I want to work there? Primarily because I'm too lazy to find another job... and it pays well.

News flash: Vermont has guaranteed the passage of a bill that would allow for the union of same-sex couples. According to msn.com, the bill "would create so-called 'civil unions' for same-sex couples. Though legally not the same as marriage, such a union would provide virtually all the legal rights and privileges of marriage, like joint property rights, shared health care benefits and hospital visitation and inheritance rights -- even immunity from being compelled to testify against a partner." This is a huge step in the right direction for our gay brothers and sisters. Let's hope that other states will extend the same dignity to gay couples that Vermont has....

And to my princess --- anyone for a road trip to Vermont?!!? ;o)




previous * next