bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-04-24

Officer of WHAT?
I feel so rad now... my page is spiffy!!! Thanks to the wonderful assistance of my oh-so-nifty roommate Stina... Lifting code from other people's sites is a wonderful way of building your own design! I borrowed the code from Stina's page, but then when I attempted to upload it, diaryland gave me some static. But now it works, and life is good.

The year is winding down... and I am getting rather sad and very nostalgic. Stina kindly helped me colour my hair tonight, but who will do it next month? Franny will be in Roanoke, Liza will be in Russia, Angela in Massachusetts, Corey in Portsmouth, along with Kurt... My most favourite people will be away from me. I do have some friends from college back in noVA, but it's just not the same.... And with my curfew, I don't think I'll be allowed to go out much. The next three months just LOOM ahead of me....

Tom's Diner... I always liked this song better a cappella. However, it's virtually impossible to find the version that doesn't have that backbeat to it. My biggest beef with this version is the backbeat doesn't slow down when Suzanne Vega gets to the "the bells of the cathedral" part. It just doesn't sound right to me.... She's going not quite half the speed of the backbeat with her lyrics, and the rhythm just mercilessly pounds on.

I am now the Officer of Something. How the HELL did I pull that off?? I'm highly amused by these developments, but at the same time I'm a little sad because Corey really wanted that office. I really don't want my best friend to be angry at me. I didn't want to take the office from him, but that's the rules. The person who doesn't want the office is the one who gets it, and I didn't particularly want an office. It's amusing to have one, so I'm not mad about it; I'm actually somewhat glad. It makes me feel somewhat useful. :o) Besides, it'll force me to actually GO to skiffy once in a while.

And speaking of best friends, I wonder where my best friend is. Boston, I know. But what is she doing? Who is she with? How is she??? That I don't know. I always get weirded out when I think about Sandy. When we were in 10th grade, we were each other's constant companion. She was my other half, she completed me. With her, I could do anything. Then she moved to California. Then back to Maryland, only to return to San Diego within a few months. When Sandy went to college, she forgot to tell me where she went. My friend in Chicago actually found her online and we were reunited. My 20th birthday I got a phone call from my stepmom, who informed me that Sandy had just called the house and would be calling me here at school in a few minutes. I sat down in my chair and cried. Spring break that year we spent every moment together; my baby brother was so mad that I didn't spend much time at all with him. After that last idyllic week, I didn't hear much from her. This past winter break I saw her again, but she was in the company of this guy who didn't take to me, and I didn't take to him. We spent only one afternoon together, and that's the last time I've heard from her. I'm not sure how to take this negligence on her part. Does it mean she doesn't care anymore? Is it just her laziness that results in her not writing me? I don't know how to explain the relationship between Sandy and me. She was the first girl I've ever really loved, the only girl I've ever completely connected with. I miss her so much.... At the same time I'm afraid to tell her how I feel. I'm afraid she thinks our friendship belongs back in the high school years, that it's no longer relevant. I'm scared....




previous * next