bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-04-11

Weather and the Meaning of Life
Should someone really expect to find a companion for the rest of his/her life? Is there some higher destiny out there that determines that there is a companion for everyone, or are we just destined to wander the earth alone?? Joe says that it's not going to happen, that we're going to be alone and that we should be happy being alone. I told him he was quite pessimistic in the way he said it wasn't going to happen. But Stina backs him up. So I wonder if I'm just a hopeless romantic, looking through the world with rose-coloured glasses and imagining myself raising kids and cats and kissing my husband goodbye on our way to work. I would love to find one of those life-long loves. Oh, I don't EXPECT that I will; I don't demand that life owes me that much. But if it happens, it'd be great. I expect to find someone I *could* spend the rest of my life with, but marriage is work -- hard, exhausting work; not the picnic most people think it is. Trust me... I've watched my dad and stepmom for 15 years. :o)

Oh I don't know what the meaning of it all is. I'm not supposed to, I'm only 21. But some days I really feel like I haven't matured any; I feel I'm still 15. Strange feelings.... :o)

Good memories cheer me up... like when it snowed in January... a blizzard came through where it NEVER snows, and we all played in the snow. That's when I first started dating Kurt, and he came up from Ocean View and taped us playing and sledding down the hills behind Millington. The snowball fights we had... hee hee! And we sledded down the hills on trays "borrowed" from Dining Services. And Katie ending up with her face in the snow, and the way she kept tossing her body into the snow drifts!!!

And when "monsoon season" came around my freshman year... Hanging out with Jacob & Co. and deciding to go frolicking in the flooded sunken gardens during the nor'easter. It was still raining a bit, and we kept splashing one another... My leather coat got soaked (not the first time), and when I came back my roommate said I looked like a drowned rat!! It was highly amusing.

Bonding during Hurricane Floyd because Stina and I were still ironing out the roommate situation. Being scared when the power went out, but having Stina right next to me, and volunteering to be door watcher at night since the card-swipes weren't working. We didn't actually have to do much. The power came back on, but it was still fun. Corey came over and we played cards by the door we were watching.

I wonder why all my memories tonight are weather-related........ Strange.......




previous * next