bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-04-14

Dreams
Last night I dreamt of the end of civilization... like in the movies where the cities are deserted and anarchy reigns. My sister Michele, my mother, her boyfriend Kevin, and I were driving around one of these deserted cities, and the emptiness was eerie. Then chaos erupted -- all of a sudden, we were surrounded by cars and trucks and people. Gunfire rang out on all sides -- from the truck drivers with AK-47s, from the drivers in the cars, from snipers on the rooftops. I screamed and crouched between the backseat and the front seats of the car. Michele remained upright, and I yelled at her, "Are you crazy??? Get down!!" She just sat there, looking calmly out the window. My mother was frantically evading the bullets.... Then for some reason we stopped, and Kevin and Momma got out of the car and went into a building. A woman and child approached the car, and Michele insisted that I not speak to them. But I wanted to help if I could. They didn't look like they had guns. So I opened the door and asked what they needed. They wanted to know if I had batteries, since the electricity in the city was out. I asked what size, they needed D-cells. I didn't have any, but I had some C-cells that were marked D, and so after conversing with her in Spanish about how they were wrong, but they may work, she thanked me and walked away, towing the child behind her.

Then FM99's morning show woke me from this dream.....




previous * next