bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
21 April 2007

Grumpy entry ahead
Can you believe I woke up in the middle of the night last night with my heart pounding away, simply because I haven't yet bought a filter for my camera lens??

*sigh*

I am definitely not the brightest bulb on the Christmas tree, nor the sharpest tack in the box.

And now it sucks because I'm tired. I've had two cups of coffee so far, so I'm doing all right, but I know in a couple of hours I'll be seriously hurting.

Oh well. Life goes on, and I will survive. I promise.

I'm supposed to be cleaning the house today. I had all sorts of great plans of moving both couches and vacuuming underneath them. I had all these plans of going through the mass quantities of papers in my computer and getting rid of them. However, I have no motivation.

This is one of the problems of having Kurt away on deployment for these long periods. When he's home, I do a great job of keeping the house clean, almost like I am trying to show that I make an excellent housewife, that I deserve to be a stay-at-home mother. When he's gone, I don't have any kind of motivation. He's not here to see whether I clean the house. And no one else sees my house either. J hasn't been here in weeks, except to return a dish or something she's borrowed, but not for any extent of time. R prefers that I go to her house when we get the kids together to play, and AS has only been here once. So if it's messy, who's going to care?

*sigh*

I know, I know. I'm whining today.

At least Kurt's email is working again. It was down for a day and a half. It's weird; I've gotten so used to not getting emails from him as often as I did on his last deployment that I get all surprised when I do get an email from him.

I don't understand the guys who never email their wives, though. I've talked to some Navy wives who say they'd rather not hear from their husbands, and Kurt gets made fun of sometimes on the ship for emailing me so much. I would think you'd want to have as much communication as possible with your spouse.

Diff'rent strokes for diff'rent folks, I guess.

OK I need to go on a small rant here. There was a headline on CNN.com that totally irritated the crap out of me: "Baseball starts healing" (regarding the Virgina Tech shootings).

Now don't get me wrong; I love baseball and football as much as the next person. Every season prior to this one I watched nearly every Seattle Mariners game, and I watch nearly every single game of football in the winter, regardless of who's playing. I love sports, I do.

But I fail to see how winning a baseball game (which Tech didn't, but anyhow) is going to help heal the families grieving for their loved ones.

It's like the first New Orleans Saints football game after Hurricane Katrina. One of the commentators said, "This is just what New Orleans needed, a win for their hometown football team!"

I would think that New Orleans needed some basic services in place, like electricity and safe drinking water, not an insignificant win of a football game.

I can see how getting back to normal would help the grieving families, but to expect healing simply because of a sports win is the media going a bit overboard.

But then, the media have already proved their stupidity over and over again.




previous * next