bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
10 April 2007

No thanks on pork
My house stinks like bacon.

So sorry, meatless friends, but I do like bacon. I'm not quite sure why; it's just about the only pork product I will consume voluntarily, meaning that I will actually buy it and make it myself.

I only buy pork chops when Kurt's home (and only because I have a cookbook where the recipes don't cook the pork to death; you don't have to anymore, you know). He likes them. I figured I ought to try to like them since he likes them, and heck, pork chops are pretty cheap as meat goes.

I have eaten a stuffed roast pork tenderloin before and loved it, but then it was cooked by my brother-in-law who is a real life chef. I will basically eat ANYTHING that man makes. Yummy.

The ham for Easter dinner was pretty good as well since it was a honey-roasted ham. But it's still not as good as roast chicken or turkey, in my humble opinion.

This morning I went to the commissary and picked myself up a pound of bacon. I was thinking things like BLTs, or bacon crumbled over my mixed-greens-and-feta salad, or any of a zillion recipes I have that call for bacon. And since I don't really like making my house stink like bacon, I bake the whole pound at once in the oven and freeze it.

Aren't I brilliant??

It's amazing how much you can get done before noon when you haul your lazy ass out of bed around 8am!! This morning I had to take the dog to be groomed (he should be looking like a drowned rat by now), which meant I had to get up. I told myself when I went to bed that I had to remember to get up when the alarm went off and not hit the snooze button, but I forgot this morning. Luckily I remembered almost right away.

Once I dropped the dog off, I went to get me some coffee. I haven't been in the mood for real lattes lately; I just go to get a cup of drip coffee with cream and Splenda. Mmmm yummy. It was still $2 for a venti.

The XM station I like to listen to is 90s alternative, and they have smart-ass commercials in between the songs. One is, "Music for the generation who feels that a $1 cup of coffee should really be $4!" How true is that?

While at the coffee shop, I ran into my former neighbor. I was under the impression that this woman still owned the house and was simply renting it out. This was the neighborhood gossip. However, she told me she sold the house three years ago. She kept repeating that she was in a "bad spot" and "had to unload" the house immediately. I wonder if I was supposed to ask what was going on, or if it were more polite just to smile and nod.

I elected to smile and nod.

Now the neighborhood gossip is she's no longer married. Maybe it was a nasty, ugly divorce. I have no idea.

All I know is I'm glad they don't live there anymore. They're just weird.

I managed to get to the commissary just after 11 this morning, which meant that I was done by 12:30pm. It takes me a while to shop, not so much because I dawdle, but because I'm always going through my coupons and reading labels and forgetting produce when I'm at the far end of the store and having to backtrack and so on. I was pretty good about staying on the perimeter of the store. I still go up and down every single aisle (it's an OCD thing of mine), but most of what I bought was produce and milk and meat and other things to make meals from scratch.

I did get suckered into buying a bunch of mac n' cheese. But it's organic mac n' cheese that apparently isn't selling well. It was marked down to 50� per box. Besides, Grace loves mac n' cheese. It's a good thing to have on hand.

I just can't believe I ran all these errands and managed to go grocery shopping, and was home by 1pm!!

Hmmm maybe I should get up earlier in the day...

Hmmmm maybe not. ;o)




previous * next